Saturday April 6, 2013

During the month of May, 15 Windham County elementary schools will open their doors to children 5 and under, parents, caregivers, early educators, and teddy bears.

Children are invited to bring their favorite teddy bears (other favorite stuffed animals are welcome, of course) for a short party called a "Teddy Bear Tea." Adults, children, and bears will meet staff, hear stories read by the principal or kindergarten teacher, and talk informally with other families. Special teddy bear cookies (made by RSVP Volunteers and Brattleboro Union High School students) and other snacks will be provided. These snacks are made possible through a donation from the Mary Meyer Corporation.

Teddy Bear Teas are designed to encourage an open and trusting partnership between home and school. The Teddy Bear Teas are co-sponsored by Early Education Services and Windham County elementary schools and are funded in part by Building Bright Futures.

For more information, call Sandy Stark at Early Education Services, 802-254-3742 ext.171, or the school in your community.

The schedule:

-- Academy School: Tuesday, May 21, All School Sing at 8:40 a.m. Tea to follow at 9:10 a.m.

-- Deerfield Valley Elementary (Wilmington and Whitingham): Wednesday, May 15, at 1:30 p.m.

-- Dover: Thursday, May 9, at 9:30 a.m.

-- Dummerston: Wednesday, May 29, at 1:30 p.m.

-- Green Street: Thursday, May 23, All School Sing at 8:35 a.m. Tea to follow at 9:05 a.m.

-- Guilford Central: Wednesday, May 8, at 10:30 a.m.

-- Halifax: Monday, May 6, at 10 a.m.

-- Jamaica: Monday, May 20, at 10 a.m.

-- Marlboro: Friday, May 3, at 2 p.m.

-- NewBrook Elementary: Tuesday, May 14, at 1 p.m.

-- Oak Grove: Wednesday, May 22, All School Sing at 8:35 a.m. Tea to follow at 9:05 a.m.

-- Putney Central: Wednesday, May 29, at 9:30 a.m.

-- Townshend: Friday, May 10, at 9 a.m.

-- Vernon: Tuesday, May 7, at 10:30 a.m.

-- Wardsboro: Friday, May 24, at 10 a.m.