BRATTLEBORO -- During the months of April and May, 15 Windham County elementary schools will open their doors to children 5 and under, parents, caregivers, early educators, and teddy bears.

Children are invited to bring their favorite teddy bears (other favorite stuffed animals are welcome of course) for a short party called a "Teddy Bear Tea." Adults, children, and bears will meet staff, hear stories read by the principal or kindergarten teacher, and talk informally with other families. Special teddy bear cookies (made by RSVP Volunteers and Brattleboro Union High School students) and other snacks will be provided. These snacks are made possible through a donation from the Mary Meyer Corporation.

Teddy Bear Teas are designed to encourage an open and trusting partnership between home and school. The Teddy Bear Teas are co-sponsored by Early Education Services and Windham County elementary schools and are funded in part by Building Bright Futures.

For more information, contact Sandy Stark at Early Education Services, 802-254-3742 ext. 171, sandy_stark@wsesu.org, or the school in your community.

-- Academy: Tuesday, May 20, All School Sing at 8:40 a.m. Tea to follow at 9:10 a.m.

-- Dover: Thursday, April 3, at 9:30 a.m.

-- Dummerston: Thursday, May 29 at 1:30 p.m.

-- Green Street: Thursday, May 22. All School Sing at 8:35 a.m. Tea to follow at 9:05 a.m.


Advertisement

-- Guilford: Friday, May 9, at 1 p.m.

-- Halifax: Monday, May 12, at 10 a.m.

-- Jamaica: Monday, May 19, at 10 a.m.

-- Marlboro: Friday, May 2, at 1:30 p.m.

-- NewBrook (Newfane and Brookline): Tuesday, May 13, at 1 p.m.

-- Oak Grove: Wednesday, May 21, All School Sing at 8:35 a.m. Tea to follow at 9:05 a.m.

-- Putney: Wednesday, May 28, at 10 a.m.

-- Townshend: Friday, May 9, at 9 a.m.

-- Twin Valley Elementary (Wilmington and Whitingham): Wednesday, May 21, at 1 p.m.

-- Vernon: Tuesday, May 6, at 10:30 a.m.

-- Wardsboro: Friday, May 23, at 10 a.m.