• Schmick: The election investors ignored - 12/19/2014 08:16 PM EST
  • Mudgett: Having cake and eating it, too - 12/19/2014 09:43 PM EST
  • Homeyer: Poinsettas - 12/18/2014 11:51 PM EST
  • Climate justice or climate fascism - 12/15/2014 09:08 PM EST
  •  
    Our opinion: The shape of things to come?

    12/19/2014 08:37 PM EST
    At first, we were having a hard time deciding who we are more angry with: North Korea for hacking Sony or Sony for running scared and canceling the theatrical the release of "The Interview. 
    Full Story
    Our opinion: The ice begins to thaw in the Caribbean
    12/17/2014 08:48 PM EST - For nearly 54 years, there have been no official diplomatic relations between the United States and Cuba, an island nation just 90 miles south of Florida. Full Story

    OPINION
    Mario Guerra for state Senate in 32nd District: Endorsement

    In the race for the southeast Los Angeles County and northern Orange County state Senate seat now known as the 32nd District, it might seem scandal-plagued incumbent Ron Calderon is a hard act to follow. Full Story
    LETTERS
    Letter Box

    Nuclear is not the answer Editor of the Reformer: Nuclear power is not carbon free and neither is it the answer to climate change. Full Story
    EDITORIALS
    Not that single payer has tanked, here is an alternative

    Governor Shumlin's decision not to proceed with a financing plan is disappointing to the many single payer advocates but should not have been a surprise. Full Story
     
    MOST RECENT
    Our opinion: The shape of things to come?

    12/19/2014 08:37 PM EST
    At first, we were having a hard time deciding who we are more angry with: North Korea for hacking Sony or Sony for running scared and canceling the theatrical the release of "The Interview. 
    Full Story
    Our opinion: The ice begins to thaw in the Caribbean
    12/17/2014 08:48 PM EST - For nearly 54 years, there have been no official diplomatic relations between the United States and Cuba, an island nation just 90 miles south of Florida. Full Story

    Our opinion: Taking it slow is the way to go
    12/15/2014 08:36 PM EST - Sometimes, putting the brakes on a process, especially one that involves the eventual distribution of $10 million, is the smart thing to do. Full Story

    Their Opinion: A victory for open government
    12/14/2014 08:56 PM EST - Government transparency is a favorite — and necessary — topic of the fourth estate. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Trade policy with Chian is costing millions of U.S. jobs
    12/12/2014 09:31 PM EST - When China joined the World Trade Organization in 2001 promoters of liberalized U. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Our oceans are drowning in plastic
    12/11/2014 08:45 PM EST - Annie Dillard once said "The sea pronounces something, over and over, in a hoarse whisper; I cannot quite make it out. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Torture is unjustifiable, always and forever
    12/10/2014 08:39 PM EST - On Tuesday, Democratic Senator Dianne Feinstein released the Senate Intelligence Committee's report on the CIA's rendition, detention and interrogation program, calling the torture of detainees in the United States' war on terror, a "stain on our country and our values. Full Story

    (AP)
    Fort Worth firefighters use oxygen to save cat

    FORT WORTH, Texas (AP) — North Texas firefighters have used oxygen on a cat that was rescued from a burning house after the residents escaped on their own. Full Story
    (Lefteris Pitarakis/AP)
    Happy day: Elton John, David Furnish marry in England

    LONDON (AP) — Entertainer Elton John and longtime mate David Furnish officially married Sunday on the ninth anniversary of the day they entered into a civil partnership. Full Story