• Stephens: Love and debris - 01/24/2015 12:08 AM EST
  • Mudgett: What you get for cheap - 01/23/2015 09:01 PM EST
  •  
    Our opinion: Selectboard weighed down by tough decisions

    01/23/2015 09:07 PM EST
    Some tough decisions are causing the Brattleboro Selectboard to put off some tough choices until the last minute in advance of this year's Representative Town Meeting. 
    Full Story
    Our Opinion: Vermont on the right track with addiction
    01/22/2015 09:08 PM EST - Gov. Peter Shumlin made national headlines last year when he used his State of the State address to highlight the growing epidemic of heroin and opiate addiction and announce a statewide initiative to reverse the trend. Full Story

    OPINION
    Mario Guerra for state Senate in 32nd District: Endorsement

    In the race for the southeast Los Angeles County and northern Orange County state Senate seat now known as the 32nd District, it might seem scandal-plagued incumbent Ron Calderon is a hard act to follow. Full Story
    LETTERS
    Letter Box

    Freezing outside, warm inside Editor of the Reformer: On Sunday, Jan. Full Story
    EDITORIALS
    Solomon: Semantic distortion — A demonstration of weakness

    American Linguist William D. Lutz noted in his writings that "the purpose of language is to communicate the truth, not to mislead and manipulate. Full Story
     
    MOST RECENT
    Our opinion: Selectboard weighed down by tough decisions

    01/23/2015 09:07 PM EST
    Some tough decisions are causing the Brattleboro Selectboard to put off some tough choices until the last minute in advance of this year's Representative Town Meeting. 
    Full Story
    Our Opinion: Vermont on the right track with addiction
    01/22/2015 09:08 PM EST - Gov. Peter Shumlin made national headlines last year when he used his State of the State address to highlight the growing epidemic of heroin and opiate addiction and announce a statewide initiative to reverse the trend. Full Story

    Our opinion: It's time for an unbiased investigation
    01/21/2015 07:41 PM EST - We welcome the announcement that the International Criminal Court will conduct a preliminary inquiry into whether war crimes were committed in the Palestinian territories during "Operation Protective Edge" conducted by Israel last summer. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Bennington students strike back at Fox
    01/21/2015 07:17 AM EST - Conservatives routinely like to rail against the so-called liberal bias of the media, but when it comes to trying to influence public opinion on a particular issue the award for Yellow Journalism goes to Fox News and its blatantly conservative agenda. Full Story

    Our opinion: Temps getting hotter and water getting higher
    01/20/2015 03:51 PM EST - Climate change deniers received some news last week, but that didn't dissuade them from further positing their ridiculous opinions that mankind is not responsible for rising sea levels and increasing temperatures. Full Story

    Their Opinion: Keystone XL: Hype versus reality
    01/18/2015 07:40 PM EST - Given the passion of the rhetoric, one would think the proposed Keystone XL pipeline is either a potential catastrophe for the environment or a great boon for the economy. Full Story

    Our opinion: A reason to look forward to 2015
    01/16/2015 08:27 PM EST - While it might be easy to conclude 2015 has gotten off to a rocky start, this might turn out to be an extraordinary year for more than 40 million people and their families. Full Story

    (STEPHEN CHERNIN/AP)
    TV talk show pioneer Franklin, who gave Pacino chance, dies

    NEW YORK (AP) — Pioneering radio and TV host Joe Franklin, who gave breaks to the likes of Al Pacino and Bill Cosby on his variety show long before they became famous and who boasted he never missed a broadcast in decades, has died at age 88. Full Story
    (Photo by Chris Pizzello/Invision/AP, File)
    Seth Rogen sorry for 'American Sniper' comments

    “The Interview” actor compared Clint Eastwood’s movie to a Nazi propaganda film depicted in “Inglourious Basterds” because both dealt with snipers, he says; but his comments were taken by many to suggest he was dismissing “American Sniper” as pro-war propaganda.