• Faraway Farm: The Saturday project - 07/03/2015 03:37 PM EDT
  • OpEd: Protecting our private spaces - 06/28/2015 07:50 PM EDT
  •  
    Our opinion: Separating church from state

    07/03/2015 03:38 PM EDT
    On this, a day of celebrating our declaration of independence from the British Empire, it seems only fitting to reflect on one of the major topics of discussion among the Founding Fathers: The separation of church and state. 
    Full Story
    Our Opinion: July 4th can be fun, but dangerous too
    07/02/2015 08:50 PM EDT - The Fourth of July holiday is a festive time to enjoy parades, barbeques and fireworks with family and friends. Full Story

    OPINION
    Mario Guerra for state Senate in 32nd District: Endorsement

    In the race for the southeast Los Angeles County and northern Orange County state Senate seat now known as the 32nd District, it might seem scandal-plagued incumbent Ron Calderon is a hard act to follow. Full Story
    LETTERS
    Letter: Athens has a conflict of interest problem

    Conflict of interest in Athens Editor of the Reformer: What a crude letter Janet Perry wrote (June 4) about Athens' newest Selectman doing his job. Full Story
    EDITORIALS
    July 4th, 1776: The Declaration of Independence

    The unanimous Declaration of the thirteen united States of America, WHEN in the Course of human Events, it becomes necessary for one People to dissolve the Political Bands which have connected them with another, and to assume among the Powers of the Earth, the separate and equal Station to which the Laws of Nature and of Nature's God entitle them, a decent Respect to the Opinions of Mankind Full Story
     
    MOST RECENT
    Our opinion: Separating church from state

    07/03/2015 03:38 PM EDT
    On this, a day of celebrating our declaration of independence from the British Empire, it seems only fitting to reflect on one of the major topics of discussion among the Founding Fathers: The separation of church and state. 
    Full Story
    Our Opinion: July 4th can be fun, but dangerous too
    07/02/2015 08:50 PM EDT - The Fourth of July holiday is a festive time to enjoy parades, barbeques and fireworks with family and friends. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Give blood to stem summer shortage
    07/01/2015 07:56 AM EDT - While you're getting ready for that annual summer vacation here's one more thing to add to your to-do list: Give blood. Full Story

    Editorial: Voting rights bill can fix what Court had destroyed
    06/28/2015 07:49 PM EDT - When the U.S. Supreme Court gutted the Voting Rights Act two years ago, the five-member majority argued that the nation had moved into a post-racial world that made the act irrelevant. Full Story

    More than Just Trade is Involved
    06/26/2015 06:36 PM EDT - The fate of the controversial Trans-Pacific Partnership, a sweeping trade agreement between the U. Full Story

    Our opinion: Rotten fruit of the 'southern strategy'
    06/24/2015 05:02 PM EDT - We are pleased to see that Republican officials in South Carolina are calling for the Confederate battle flag to be taken down from the grounds of the state capitol in Columbia. Full Story

    Our Opinion: Ruined ACA will leave GOP badly exposed
    06/23/2015 03:33 PM EDT - The old adage about being careful what you wish for is haunting Republicans as a U. Full Story

    140 pairs of underwear stolen from store hit by 4 bra heists

    WILKES-BARRE, Pa. (AP) — First they took the bras. Now they've come back for the panties. Police say 140 pairs of underwear have been stolen from a northeast Pennsylvania store that's been struck by four bra heists since February. Full Story
    (Frank Franklin II/AP)
    America welcomes July 4 with hot dogs, cool music, cold beer

    As the nation gears up to celebrate America's birthday, here are some Fourth of July highlights from around the country: ——— IN AMERICA'S BIRTHPLACE: CONCERTS, A PARADE AND BEER Philadelphia started its Fourth of July celebration a little early. Full Story
    (Photo by Darren Carroll/Getty Images)
    Did Tiger Woods cheat with Amanda Dufner?

    Lindsey Vonn reportedly caught golfer with his competitor’s ex-wife, which is likely why they aren’t dating anymore.