MARLBORO >> Marlboro Music, the unique Vermont summer community which The New Yorker described as "the classical world's most coveted retreat" will share the discoveries of its 80 resident artists on five concert weekends from July 16 through Aug. 14. Performances are on Saturdays at 8 p.m. and Sundays at 2:30 p.m., with two special Friday concerts on Aug. 5 and 12 at p.m. in Persons Auditorium on the campus of Marlboro College.

Programs are selected by the musicians themselves, a week in advance, from the 75 works being explored in depth. Information about tickets, lodging and attractions in the area can be obtained at marlboromusic.org or by calling 802-254-2394 . For those who prefer not to drive at night, a shuttle service is available from Brattleboro for evening performances.

Artistic Director Mitsuko Uchida will be joined for the seven-week session by an international group of master artists including composer-in-residence Sofia Gubaidulina and exceptional young professional musicians. Marlboro Music's concert schedule is as follows: Saturday, July 16, at 8 p.m.; Sunday, July 17, at 2:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 23, at 8 p.m.; Sunday, July 24, at 2:30 p.m.; Saturday, July 30, at 8 p.m.; Sunday, July 31, at 2:30 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 5, at 8 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 6, at 8 p.m.; Sunday, Aug. 7, at 2:30 p.m.; Friday, Aug. 12, at 8 p.m.; Saturday, Aug. 13, at 8 p.m.; and Sunday, Aug. 14, at 2:30 p.m.



Advertisement