Four of the Brattleboro Union High School varsity teams will begin the fall season on Saturday, Aug. 30, and the Colonels harriers will debut on Sept. 2. Some key dates include the John James Soccer Tournaments on Sept. 4 and Sept. 11 in Bennington, the BUHS football team's Homecoming game on Sept. 26, and a home cross country meet on Sept. 30.

The records of each BUHS varsity team last season were: Girls Soccer (3-8-3), Boys Soccer (5-8-1), Field Hockey (1-11-2), and Football (2-7). The Champlain Valley Union girls, Colchester boys, Essex stickers, and Middlebury gridders are the defending Division 1 state champions.

Ryan Gilligan placed 40th overall to lead the Brattleboro boys in the 2013 state cross country meet. Nevada Powers wound up 19th to pace the Colonel girls on that same day.

The varsity coaches for the BUHS teams this fall are: Football -- John Callahan, Boys Soccer -- Paul Sather, Girls Soccer -- Edwin DeBruijn, Field Hockey -- Kelly Markol and Sherryl Libardoni, and cross country -- John Dimick.

The Brattleboro Union High School fall sports schedule for each varsity team is as follows:

Saturday, Aug. 30

Varsity boys soccer at St. Johnsbury, 11 a.m.

Varsity field hockey at Fair Haven, 11 a.m.

Varsity football at Bellows Falls, 1 p.m.

Varsity girls soccer hosts St. Johnsbury, 11 a.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 2

Varsity cross country at Thetford, 4 p.m.


Advertisement

Varsity field hockey at MAU, 4:30 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 4

Varsity girls soccer at MAU (John James), 7 p.m.

Varsity field hockey hosts Rutland, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 5

Varsity football hosts Burlington, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 6

Varsity girls soccer at MAU (John James), TBA

Varsity boys soccer hosts Proctor, 11 a.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 9

Varsity cross country at Hartford, 4 p.m.

Varsity field hockey at Burr and Burton, 4:30 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 10

Varsity girls soccer hosts Springfield, 7 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 11

Varsity boys soccer at MAU (John James), 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 12

Varsity football at South Burlington, 7 p.m.

Varsity field hockey hosts MAU, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 13

Varsity girls soccer hosts Mill River, 11 a.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 16

Varsity cross country at MAU, 4 p.m.

Varsity boys soccer at Hartford, 4:30 p.m.

Varsity girls soccer hosts Hartford, 7 p.m.

Thursday, Sept. 18

Varsity field hockey hosts Bellows Falls, 7 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 19

Varsity cross country at Bellows Falls, 4:15 p.m.

Varsity boys soccer hosts Mill River, 4:30 p.m.

Varsity football hosts Hartford, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 20

Varsity field hockey hosts Springfield, 10 a.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 23

Varsity cross country at Woodstock, 4 p.m.

Varsity field hockey at Hartford, 4:30 p.m.

Varsity boys soccer hosts Burr and Burton, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Sept. 24

Varsity girls soccer hosts Burr and Burton, 6 p.m.

Friday, Sept. 26

Varsity football hosts St. Johnsbury (Homecoming), 7 p.m.

Varsity field hockey hosts Windsor, 4 p.m.

Saturday, Sept. 27

Varsity cross country at Manchester, 10 a.m.

Varsity girls soccer hosts MAU (Homecoming), 11 a.m.

Varsity boys soccer hosts MAU (Homecoming), 1 p.m.

Tuesday, Sept. 30

Varsity cross country hosts meet (East Orchard Street), 4 p.m.

Varsity boys soccer hosts Rutland, 7 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 1

Varsity girls soccer at Leland & Gray, 4 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 2

Varsity boys soccer at Leland & Gray, 4 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 3

Varsity field hockey at Bellows Falls, 4 p.m.

Varsity football at Rutland, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 4

Varsity cross country at Springfield, 4 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 7

Varsity cross country at Springfield, 4 p.m.

Varsity girls soccer at Proctor, 4 p.m.

Varsity field hockey hosts Burr and Burton, 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 8

Varsity boys soccer hosts Hartford, 6 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 10

Varsity cross country at Hanover, 4 p.m.

Varsity boys soccer at Burr and Burton, 4 p.m.

Varsity girls soccer at Hartford, 4 p.m.

Varsity field hockey at Windsor, 4 p.m.

Varsity football hosts Colchester, 7 p.m.

Tuesday, Oct. 14

Varsity cross country at Rutland (MVL), 3:30 p.m.

Varsity girls soccer hosts Rutland, 6 p.m.

Wednesday, Oct. 15

Varsity field hockey hosts Fair Haven, 6 p.m.

Thursday, Oct. 16

Varsity girls soccer at Burr and Burton, 4 p.m.

Varsity boys soccer hosts Springfield, 6 p.m.

Friday, Oct. 17

Varsity football at MAU, 7 p.m.

Saturday, Oct. 18

Varsity field hockey at Springfield, 10 a.m.

Varsity boys soccer at Rutland, 11 a.m.

Friday, Oct. 24

Varsity football vs. TBD, TBA

Saturday, Oct. 25

Varsity cross country at Thetford (States), 10 a.m.