52 compete in initial BCC golf tournament


BRATTLEBORO -- The tournament season kicked off at the Brattleboro Country Club on May 26, with 52 players taking part in a best 2-ball of 4 Member-Member event, each team consisting of three men and one woman. Prizes were awarded for both gross and net scores.

In the former category a margin of three strokes separated the winning team of Becky Day, Hugh Barber, Bob Houle, Ken Kenworthy from runners-up Barb Oles, Wayne Wright, Doug Kroc, Doug Fiske.

Net winners were Lois Forester, Doug Fitts, Frank Lopez, Cameron Duffy by two strokes over the teams of Elizabeth Walker, Dick Noel, Henry Diemer, Gordon Evans, and Amelia Stone, Greg Montgomery, Keith Strand, Dennis Mayotte.

Closest to the pin prizes went to Iedje Hornsby (fourth hole, 7’3"), Doug Fiske (eighth, 5’9"), Steve Holley (13th, 19’), Jason Kelley (16th, 7’9").

Eight men’s teams and six women’s took part in the Zelenakas Team Stroke Play Championship, a two-player, one best-ball event, on June 1.

The team of Hugh Barber and Wayne Wright took first place gross honors with a 71, outpacing Bob Houle and Henry Diemer by 13 strokes. With a net 63, Rick Wisell and Jason Kelley edged Steve Holley and Dennis Mayotte by five.

Wendy Scott and Jill Zachary took the women’s crown with a gross 82. On the net side Iedje Hornsby and Marilyn Cassidy’s 63 beat Alicia Field and Mary Jane Penfield by two strokes.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions