8 area softball players make 1st Team


BRATTLEBORO >> Brattleboro and Leland & Gray's batteries each earned Marble Valley League First Team honors after guiding their varsity softball teams into the quarterfinals.

Their coaches — Kelly Markol and Tammy Claussen — were once the pitcher and catcher at Springfield College. And they were each named MVL Coach of the Year in their respective division.

Pitcher Hannah Wilson and catcher Jamie Mahoney teamed up game after game during Brattleboro's 13-5 season. They also combined for five hits when the Colonels defeated South Burlington 18-5 in a Division 1 playdown game.

Keltsey Rushton, who is a hard-throwing lefty, fanned nine during Leland & Gray's heartbreaking loss to Enosburg in a Division 3 quarterfinal. Catcher Jessie Stockwell had a couple of hits for the 14-4 Rebels in that contest.

Other area varsity softball players named MVL All-Stars are Brattleboro's Emmalee Waite, Leland & Gray's Jordan Gouger, Emily Stoddard of Bellows Falls, and Twin Valley's Brianna Rafus. Nine others were either named a Second Teamer or given Honorable Mention.

Division A Softball

Amy Jones — Otter Valley

Gabby Poalina — Otter Valley

Hannah Wilson — Brattleboro

Emmalee Waite — Brattleboro

Jamie Mahoney — Brattleboro

Carolyn Laird — Rutland

Lauren Woodcock — MAU

Kori Bow — MAU

Taylor Dicranian — MAU

Coach Kelly Markol — Brattleboro

*Honorable Mention: Devin Millerick — Brattleboro

*Honorable Mention: Hailey Derosia — Brattleboro

Division B Softball

Kayla Lancer — Hartford

Emily Stoddard — Bellows Falls

Emily Anderson — Windsor

Jade Twombly — Springfield

Brooke Willey — Springfield

Cassidy Otis — Springfield

Johanna Morse — Fair Haven

Olivia Bowen — Fair Haven

Briley Blackbird — Fair Haven

Coach Andy Bladkya — Springfield

*Honorable Mention: Murphy Hicks — Bellows Falls

*Honorable Mention: Aly Bashaw — Bellows Falls

Division C Softball

Brooke Raiche — West Rutland

McKenna Ludden — Mill River

Melissa Fay — Mill River

Hannah Reali — Woodstock

Loretta Blakeney — Woodstock

Gabby Rozumek — Woodstock

Sierra Thornton — Proctor

Rylee Ewald — Green Mountain

Kassidy Cummings — Green Mountain

Noelle Gignoux — Green Mountain

Alice Faenza — Black River

Morgan Collins — Black River

Brianna Rafus — Twin Valley

Abby Lamberton — Poultney

Emily DeBonis — Poultney

Grace Lyle — Poultney

Jordan Gouger — Leland & Gray

Keltsey Rushton — Leland & Gray

Jessie Stockwell — Leland & Gray

Coach Tammy Claussen — Leland & Gray

*2nd Team: Kassidy Walkowiak — Twin Valley

*2nd Team: Karlee Walkowiak — Twin Valley

*2nd Team: Jarrett Niles — Twin Valley

*2nd Team: Kaylea Niles — Twin Valley

*2nd Team: Mackenzie Boyle — Leland & Gray


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions