9 area baseball players make 1st Team


BRATTLEBORO >> After firing a four-hitter and earning the victory in a Division 2 baseball semifinal last month, Zachary Streeter of Bellows Falls was named to the Marble Valley League Division B First Team.

Eight other area baseball players are also MVL All-Stars, including BF's Brady Illingworth. The clean-up hitter was the hero during the regular season, with a game-winning RBI versus visiting Brattleboro.

A trio of Colonels were named MVL All-Stars after helping Brattleboro to a 13-4 record. Leif Bigelow ended his sophomore season with a three-hitter against Hartford in a Division 1 playdown game, while right fielder Chayse Cunniff and shortstop Sam Ognenoff each had a hit during that 4-0 upset loss.

Twin Valley's Chris Robinson and Baylee Crawford made the Division C First Team along with Leland & Gray's Nick Morrow and Owen Beattie. The Rebels were voted the Reformer Team of the Season after going 13-2, earning the top seed and going all the way to the Division 3 semifinals.

Brattleboro's Chris Groeger, Bob Lockerby of Bellows Falls, and Leland & Gray's Eric Durocher were all named the MVL Coach of the Year for their respective division.

The complete MVL First Teams as well as Honorable Mentions for area players are listed below.

Division A Baseball

Noah Normyle — MAU

Codi Smith — Hartford

Jordy Allard — Hartford

Chayse Cunniff — Brattleboro

Leif Bigelow — Brattleboro

Sam Ognenoff — Brattleboro

Griff Stalcup — BBA

Andy Kenosh — Rutland

Jacob Godfrey — Rutland

Coach Chris Groeger — Brattleboro

*Honorable Mention: Dan Petrie — Brattleboro

Division B Baseball

Zachary Streeter — Bellows Falls

Brady Illingworth — Bellows Falls

Sam Eaton — Fair Haven

Austin Brannock — Fair Haven

Aaron Botti — Mill River

John Graves — Mill River

Tyler Allen — Otter Valley

Ben Tubbs — Springfield

Zeb Reardon — Springfield

Jake Meagher — Windsor

Conner Gould — Windsor

Coach Bob Lockerby — Bellows Falls

*Honorable Mention: Alex Groenewold — Bellows Falls

Division C Baseball

Chris Robinson — Twin Valley

Baylee Crawford — Twin Valley

Owen Beattie — Leland & Gray

Nick Morrow — Leland & Gray

Josh Woods — Green Mountain

Joe Bianchi — Woodstock

Owen Tarleton — Woodstock

Joe Brown — Poultney

Conner Hill — Poultney

Coach Eric Durocher — Leland & Gray

*Honorable Mention: Justin Hicks — Twin Valley

*Honorable Mention: Casper Rowe — Leland & Gray

Division D Baseball

Matt Bathalon — West Rutland

Zach Paul — Black River

Earle Brown — Black River

Ethan Van Guilder — Black River

Evan Crumb — Long Trail

Will McCullough — Long Trail

Jon Farrow — MSJ

Shane Protivansky — MSJ

Kyle Miles — Proctor

Derek Almond — Proctor

Shaun Blanchard — Proctor

Curtis Tomlinson — Proctor

Coach Mike Merrone


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions