Athletes, coaches earn MVL honors

Monday June 17, 2013

BRATTLEBORO -- Chris Sawyer (Brattleboro boys lacrosse), Tammy Claussen (Leland & Gray softball) and Dave Chelsey (Bellows Falls girls tennis) were all named Marble Valley League Coach of the Year for their respective sport.

Area athletes that made the MVL first or second team, or honorable mention, this spring are listed below.

Division B Baseball: 1st Team -- Leland & Gray’s Drew Barnum and Zach Wilkins, Mike LaBeau of Bellows Falls. Honorable Mention -- Wade Beattie of Leland & Gray.

Division C Baseball: 1st Team -- Sam Molner of Twin Valley. Honorable Mention -- Dylan Johnson of Twin Valley.

Division A Softball: 1st Team -- Brattleboro’s Kayla Wood, Mckinlie Carpenter and Bailey Paige.

Division B Softball: 1st Team -- Leland & Gray’s Ashley Goddard, Elizabeth Symanski and Jordan Gouger, and Chelsea Wilder of Bellows Falls. Coach of the Year -- Leland & Gray’s Tammy Claussen.

Division C Softball: 1st Team -- Twin Valley’s Sammy Cunningham-Darrah. Honorable Mention -- Twin Valley’s Veronika Vernon, Lexi Reinertson, Hannah Swanson, Jordan Niles, Colton Butler and Abbi Putnam.

Division A Boys Tennis: 1st Team -- Brattleboro’s Isaiah Ungerleider, Asa Lane and Benson May.

Division B Boys Tennis: Honorable Mention -- Cedar Williams of Bellows Falls.

Division A Girls Tennis: 1st Team -- Brattleboro’s Halie Lange.

Division B Girls Tennis: Coach of the Year -- Dave Chelsey of Bellows Falls.

Boys Lacrosse: 1st Team -- Brattleboro’s Sam Siegel, Nik Rancourt, Conner Elliott-Knaggs, Philip Perkins and Romello Lindsey. Coach of the Year -- Brattleboro’s Chris Sawyer. 2nd Team -- Brattleboro’s Colby McGinn, Rowan Payne-Meyer and Lane Drummey. Honorable Mention -- Brattleboro’s Jake Castine, Tanner Freeman, Kyle Patno and Brennen Zolnoski.

Girls Lacrosse: 1st Team -- Brattleboro’s Maddie Rollins. 2nd Team -- Brattleboro’s Katelyn Donovan and Alex Fellows.

Girls Softball

Missisquoi 3, MAU 2

BENNINGTON -- In a game that was postponed numerous times due to the rain, No. 5 Missisquoi rallied for three runs in the sixth inning and held off No. 4 MAU in this Division 1 quarterfinal matchup on Saturday.

After five scoreless innings, Dakota Raleigh’s double was the highlight in Missisquoi’s three-run sixth. Makayla Farrara’s RBI ground out in the sixth and Jamie Murphy’s run-scoring double in the seventh got the Patriots to within one run.

Raleigh fanned six and walked just one to pick up the win. Baylee Ports (2 K’s, 0 BB) took the loss.

The semifinal between Missisquoi and top-ranked Essex, scheduled for Sunday, was moved to today at 4 p.m. The winner of that contest will face No. 3 Brattleboro in Tuesday’s championship game in Poultney.

The Division 3 final between Leland & Gray and Oxbow, also scheduled for Sunday, was postponed to tonight at 6 in Poultney.

Youth Baseball

SAXTONS RIVER -- Youth baseball will return to the Saxtons River Rec on Saturday, June 22, from noon to 4 p.m. Rockingham’s youth baseball league will play a doubleheader and there will be Wiffle ball for the younger kids. There will also be a cookout, and peanuts and crackerjacks will be served. Volunteers are needed.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions