Boys lacrosse honors are announced


BRATTLEBORO -- Brattleboro Union High School’s Sam Siegel and Colby McGinn were both named to the Division 1 Vermont Lacrosse Coaches Association’s All-State 1st Team. BUHS players Connor Elliott-Knaggs and Kyle Patno were each named to the 2nd Team.

Division 1 All-State 1st Team: Attack -- Sam Siegel, senior, Brattleboro; Cam Nolting, junior, South Burlington; Brendan Gleason, junior, Essex. Midfield -- Willy Champagne, senior, South Burlington; Steele Dubrul, senior, CVU; Oliver Kaija, senior, Woodstock. LSM -- Zack Piper, senior, South Burlington. Defense -- Colby McGinn, senior, Brattleboro; Cam Harris, senior, CVU; Sam Smith, senior, Middlebury. Goalie -- Ben Orr, senior, Woodstock.

Division 1 All-State 2nd Team: Attack -- Nevin Diparlo, senior, CVU; Sam Usilton, senior, Middlebury; Avery Peck, senior, MAU. Midfield -- Connor Elliott-Knaggs, senior, Brattleboro; Joe Couture, senior, Rutland; Josh Gervais, senior, Colchester. LSM -- Kyle Patno, senior, Brattleboro. Defense -- Nick Donaldson, senior, Woodstock; Joe Aiken, senior, Essex; Austin Robinson, juniior, Middlebury. Goalie -- Barry Bergeron, senior, Colchester.

Division 2 All-State 1st Team: Attack -- Jack Breen, senior, Burlington; Christian Gallagher, junior, GMVS; Connor Loughran, junior, Stowe. Midfield -- Clark Stephenson, sophomore, Burlington; John Burchert, senior, Hartford; Jeff Pyke, senior, GMVS. LSM -- Alec Wehse, junior, Stowe. Defense -- Neil Gallagher, senior, GMVS; Jackson Viscomi, senior, Burlington; Sha’ron Bilowith, senior, Burlington. Goalie -- Zach Wenberg-Smith, senior, Harwood.

Division 2 All-State 2nd Team: Attack -- Emerson Prager, junior, Rice; Marley Meimert, junior, Burlington; Ian Pelkey, senior, Milton. Midfield -- Bennett Anderson, senior, Lamoille; John Drake, senior, Harwood; Charlie Meyers, sophomore, Mt. Abraham. LSM -- Cooper Norton, sophomore, Rice. Defense -- Grady Wimble, senior, U-32; Chris Johnson, senior, Milton; Taylor Thompson, senior, Hartford. Goalie -- Thomas Meyers, senior, Lamoille.

United States Lacrosse Academic All-American honors went to Brattleboro’s Colby McGinn, Milton’s Jared Richardson and Woodstock’s Oliver Kaija. The US Lacrosse Bob Scott award was given to Stowe’s Andrew Chambers.

US Lacrosse All-American honors: Sam Siegel of Brattleboro, Cam Nolting of South Burlington, Cameron Harris of CVU, Willy Champagne of South Burlington, Steele Dubrul of CVU, Sam Smith of Middlebury.

VLCA Green & Gold Outstanding Players of the Year: Jack Breen of Burlington, Joe Couture of Rutland, Ben Orr of Woodstock, Brendan Gleason of Essex, Josh Gervais of Colchester, Sam Usilton of Middlebury.

US Lacrosse Coach of the Year -- Paul Reif of MAU. US Lacrosse Assistant Coach of the Year -- Dave Neil of Essex. VLCA Contribution to Youth Lacrosse -- Chris Brooks of Hartford. VLCA Outstanding Official of the Year -- Keith Page. US Lacrosse Man of the Year -- Paul Trono.

Friesians of Majesty

TOWNSHEND -- New Head Dressage Trainer Maggie Broekman will be doing a four-day clinic at Friesians of Majesty from July 24-27. You can arrange to bring your horse for a lesson or ride one of the Friesians of Majesty lesson horses.

Spots are filling up fast, so call 802-365-7526 now to get the ride time you desire. The price per ride is $125 for one hour. Auditors are welcome at $25 per day.

Broekman has over 35 years of experience training through Grand Prix. She also has worked with a number of problem horses in the dressage discipline. She has competed and been tested through Grand Prix levels. She has completed all requirements in becoming a German Licensed Trainer through the FN.

Friesians of Majesty is located at 185 Maggie Ladd Road in Townshend.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions