Curlin leads 2014 Racing Hall of Fame inductees


SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) -- Curlin, a two-time Horse of the Year who retired as North America’s all-time leading money earner, led the class of inductees into the National Museum of Racing’s Hall of Fame.

Joining Curlin were jockey Alex Solis, trainer Gary Jones, two-time champion Ashado, 19th-century standout Clifford, owner and breeder Edward R. Bradley, breeder Edward P. Taylor and 19th-century jockey Lloyd Hughes. They were honored during a ceremony Friday at the Fasig-Tipton Sales Pavilion near Saratoga Race Course, where the nation’s top thoroughbreds are competing.

Late Kendall-Jackson wine magnate Jess Jackson purchased Curlin following his impressive debut victory in February 2007, and the son of Smart Strike went on to become only the fifth horse and first since Cigar in 1995-96 to be voted back-to-back Eclipse Awards as Horse of the Year in 2007 and 2008.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions