Dems nominate Justices of the Peace


BRATTLEBORO -- At a business meeting of Brattleboro Democrats held the evening of Tuesday, Aug. 19, the Brattleboro Town Democratic Committee, nominated 14 incumbent Justices of the Peace, plus one new candidate, to represent the Democratic Party in the coming November election. There are a total of 15 Justices of the Peace seats in Brattleboro, which means that the Democrats this year are forwarding the names of party candidates for all possible Justice of the Peace positions.

The names of the 14 incumbent justices, who also help make up the membership of the Board of Civil Authority, are Hugh Bronson, Jane Buckingham, Franklin J. Chrisco, Diane Cooke, Elliott C, Greenblott, Hilaeri Greenblott, Mary Ann Holt, Veronica Johnson, Donald E. Long, Lee Madden, Sharry Manning, Ben Underhill, Beverly Webster, and Veronica Wheelock.

Madden, who previously has run as a Progressive Party candidate, this year has consented to the Democratic Party’s nomination as well and will run with both parties’ nominations. And Gail Speno was nominated to content for the seat vacated by Kathy Dowd, who is not running for re-election this year.

It is expected that these nominees will be on the ballot as Democratic candidates in the November election, but not in next week’s primary. Their names will be turned in by the Committee to Brattleboro Town Clerk Annette Cappy by the Aug. 29.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions