Education news and notes

Wachdel completes residency

PHILADELPHIA >> Heather Wachtel, MD., just completed a seven-year residency in general surgery at the Hospital for the University of Pennsylvania. She is starting a Fellowship in Endocrine Surgery at Mass General Hospital next month on Aug. 1.

Prior to attending medical school, she conducted immunology research for two years at MGH.

Wachtel received her MD degree from Yale University School of Medicine in 2009, her BA in History of Medicine and Molecular Biology from Harvard University in 2003, and is a 1999 graduate of Leland and Gray Union High School. She is residing in Lexington, Mass., with her husband, Greg, and daughter, Ava.

Ninety Nine Restaurants honors Brattleboro youth

BRATTLEBORO >> The Ninety Nine Restaurants recently announced the seven winners of its 9th Annual Boys & Girls Club Scholarship Awards.

Jordan Baldwin-Page, a member of the Boys & Girls Clubs of Brattleboro, and a high school junior at Brattleboro Union High School, was awarded the scholarship representing the state of Vermont. The award is given to an outstanding youth who has shown an exemplary commitment to the Boys & Girls Club, as well as a strong performance in school and community involvement.

Baldwin-Page, a Brattleboro resident, will receive a $1,000 scholarship to put towards her college degree when she begins college in the fall of 2017.

Seven $1,000 Boys & Girls Club Scholarship Awards were distributed to high school students across New England and New York, continuing to showcase the Ninety Nine's commitment to the communities in which their 106 restaurants serve. This year's Annual Boys & Girls Scholarship Awards mark the 19th year that Ninety Nine has partnered with the Boys & Girls Club, and the remarkable relationship continues to grow.

Rotary Club Awards $18,000 in scholarships to six local students

BRATTLEBORO >> The Brattleboro Rotary Club recently awarded a total of $18,000 in scholarships to six local high school students who will be attending college this fall. The scholarships are funded by The Gateway Foundation, an affiliate of the Brattleboro Rotary Club.

This year's recipients include Emily Bau, of Brattleboro, who will attend Columbia University; Kimberly Bau, of Brattleboro, who will attend Carnegie Mellon University; Erelyn E. Griffin, of Westminster, who will attend Johnson State College; Ashley P. Hescock, of Wardsboro, who will attend Franklin Pierce University; Zachary D. Lepisto, of Hinsdale, N.H., who will attend Coastal Carolina University; and Benton M. Winrich, of Townshend, who will attend Castleton University.

Each student received $3,000.

"We are happy to be able to offer these scholarships each year, and hope the assistance will help lead each student a step closer to his or her goals," said Scholarship Committee Chairman John C. Mabie.

The Brattleboro Rotary Club established The Gateway Foundation in 1986 to create a fund to support scholarships awarded annually to local students pursuing college. The Foundation, which is a non-profit and tax-exempt organization, has awarded over $420,000 in scholarships to area students. It is funded by Rotary Club and individual contributions.

Applications are accepted each spring from graduating seniors at Brattleboro Union, Hinsdale, N.H., and Leland and Gray Union high schools. Criteria for the awards are academic achievement, financial need, and community service, all of which are weighed evenly.

For more information about the Brattleboro Rotary Club and its Gateway Foundation, contact Gateway President Marty Cohn at 802-490-4434, Scholarship Committee Chairman John C. Mabie at 802-257-5292, ext. 2, or visit

Four graduates receive Crowell scholarship

NEWFANE >> The Board of Trustees of the Moore Free Library in Newfane recently announced this year's recipients of a Robert L. Crowell Scholarship.

These yearly awards total $12,000 and are to qualified students residing in Newfane, Williamsville, South Newfane and Brookline who will be entering their first year of college, trade or vocational school.

The students, along with the college they will be attending this fall, are: Skyler Nupp, Hartford School of Art; Evan Daigneault, Johnson State; Caitlin Garry, Albany College of Pharmacy; and Max Cramp, Curry College.

Moore Free Library Board thanks the Crowell Family for their generous support of the Newfane community.

University of Maine announces spring 2016 Dean's List

ORONO >> The University of Maine recognized 2,267 students for achieving Dean's List honors in the spring 2016 semester.

Local students include Heather Lowry, of Alstead, N.H., David Idelkope, of Chesterfield, N.H., and Faith and Hope Gardner, of Walpole, N.H.

Elms College names students to Dean's List

CHICOPEE >> The College of Our Lady of the Elms has named the following student to the dean's list for the spring 2016 semester of the 2015-2016 academic year: Lara Atamaniuk, of Brattleboro.

Local students named to Dean's List at University of New England

Biddeford, Maine >> Three students from Windham County have been named to the Dean's List for the 2016 spring semester at the University of New England. Those students are Quinn Lawrence, from Saxtons River, Jessica Kane, from Vernon, and Racheal Sylvester, from Westminster.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions