Education Notes

Community College of Vermont announces Fall 2015 Dean's List

MONTPELIER >> The following local students at the Community College of Vermont were named to the Fall 2015 Dean's List. This honor recognizes full-time students with a grade point average between 3.5 and 3.99: Levi Simpons and John Wright, of Brattleboro; Yuri Harris, of Guilford; Daniel Tharp, of Putney; Abigail Miller, of Vernon; Lainee Hubeny, of West Wardsboro; and Mandolin Lucier, of Whitingham.

The following local students at the Community College of Vermont were named to the Fall 2015 President's List. This honor recognizes full-time students with a 4.0 grade point average: Kyle O'Rourke, of Bellows Falls: Lisa Fricke and Sage Kapitsis, of Brattleboro; Paige Gargett, of Jamaica; Trinna Larsen, of Putney; and Hannah Crocker, of Saxtons River.

Next AAUW meeting features how to finance college

BRATTLEBORO >> Financial issues faced by today's college students is the topic of the meeting of the Brattleboro branch of the American Association of University Women Tuesday, Feb. 9, at 1 p.m. in the Oak Meadow offices in the Brooks House on Main Street. The meeting is open to the public. Oak Meadow is located on the second floor, which is accessible by elevator.

Michele Delhaye and Rye Davis of the Vermont Student Assistance Corp., will address some of the key issues surrounding funding higher education: What are the resources, application process, and scholarships available for potential college and postsecondary students? What is the best way to help finance our children's and grandchildren's college education? What changes are needed to improve financing college, and how can we help achieve them? How can we best help scholarship recipients be successful in college and manage their financial debt?

The presentation will be of interest to parents, grandparents, women thinking of going back to college and others concerned about the financing of higher education and the debts it can carry beyond graduation.

A tour of the new Community College of Vermont facilities will follow the program.

Brattleboro AAUW annually awards three scholarships to graduating female high school students and one to a mature woman returning to college. Funds are raised through an annual used book sale. Information about joining can be found at or by calling 802-387-5875.

Vernon student receives scholarship

CASTLETON >> Meghan L. Powell, daughter of Monica and David Mattocks, of Vernon, received the Academic Recognition Scholarship in her first semester at Castleton University.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions