Hinsdale students earn fall awards

Wednesday November 14, 2012

BRATTLEBORO -- Hinsdale cross-country runners Roxy Toussaint and Tanner Nichols were recently named to the Granite State Conference "All Team" which is voted on by Division 4 coaches throughout New Hampshire.

McKenzie Bonnette and Anthony Gringeri won the prestigious Michael Abbott Awards. Other Hinsdale athletes earning fall honors were...

Middle School Girls Soccer: Emily Ricker -- Most Improved Player Award. Jennifer Matuszewski -- Most Hustle Award. Ashley Drake -- Sportsmanship Award.

Middle School Boys Soccer: Jhivan Abdul-Cobb -- Sportsmanship Award. Nathan O’Melia -- Most Improved Player Award.

Boys Varsity Soccer: Richard Webster -- Offensive Player of Year Award. Ben Kilelee -- Defensive Player of Year Award. Anthony Gringeri -- Michael Abbot Award. Matthew Boggio -- Coaches Award. Brandon VonFeldt -- Most Valuable Player Award. Peter McCosker -- Sportsmanship Award.

Girls Varsity Soccer: Amy Yannizze -- Rookie of the Year Award. Colleen Bedaw -- Most Improved Player Award. Reinhilde Laan -- Sportsmanship Award. Bridget Bourne -- Team Cheerleader Award. McKenzie Bonnette -- Michael Abbot Award.

Girls Varsity Cross Country: Front Runner -- Roxy Toussaint. 2nd Runner -- Starr Bruce. 3rd Runner -- Taryn Fisk. 4th Runner -- Katelyn Towle. 5th Runner -- Brittany Melroy.

Boys Varsity Cross Country: Front Runner -- Tanner Nichols. 2nd Runner -- Evan Dunkley. 3rd Runner -- Florin Handelman. 4th Runner -- Samuel Calderwood. 5th Runner -- Nick Dowley.

Turkey Trot

BRATTLEBORO -- The Brattleboro Turkey Trot will be held on Thanksgiving Day, with a one-mile kids’ race at 9 a.m., followed by a three-mile race at 9:15 a.m. Both courses are out-and-back on Upper Dummerston Road, starting and ending near the Brattleboro Country Club.

There’s no entry fee, but participants should bring a food item (canned goods, baked goods, dessert, something Thanksgiving related, etc.). The race directors collect the food items when the runners check in and put everything in the back of a truck, and then runners pick out an item as their "award" after they finish.

If you want to be included in the official results, you must preregister by Wednesday, Nov. 21. Those who don’t preregister can still run, but won’t be given a bib number. Visit www.redcloverrovers.com to register, or contact Bob Aube at 802-896-9424.

Women’s Hockey

BRATTLEBORO -- Waking up after a tough season-opening loss to the Woodstock Valley Ice Cats, the Brattleboro Women’s Hockey Riverhawks roared to a 6-1 victory Saturday night over the Manchester Rusty Blades.

Anchoring the victory was goalie Lizzie Buxton, who saved 10 of 11 shots on goal. Brattleboro Riverhawks goals were scored by Jodi Salomon (2), Christie Turner (2), Kirsten Beske and Maud Lonergan, and were made possible by assists from Elizabeth McLarney (3), Emma Mitchell and Jesslyn Mullett.

The Lady Riverhawks will continue their season this Saturday on home ice at 4:30 p.m. against the Rutland Cutting Edge.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions