Local athletes to play in Rotary Classic, chosen as MVL All-Stars

Tuesday March 19, 2013

BRATTLEBORO -- Brattleboro Union High School’s Maddie Rollins, who recently joined the 100-point club for her career, has been selected to play for the Austin Conference in the Rotary All-Star Hockey Classic on Saturday, March 23 in Essex.

The women’s game will begin at 1 p.m. and the men’s game will follow at 4 p.m., with the top seniors in Vermont competing in both of them. Brattleboro’s Andy Harris, Nik Rancourt and Jimmy Podlaski will all play in the men’s game.

Marble Valley League All-Stars were recently announced in wrestling, Nordic skiing and boys/girls basketball. Local athletes that were chosen are as follows:

Wrestling: Coach of the Year -- Claude Weyant, Bellows Falls-Hartford. First Team -- Patrick Libuda, Nolan Viens, Kyle Record, all of BF-Hartford. 2nd Team -- Austin Viens and Steve Cerrone of BF-Hartford.

Nordic Skiing: Girls freestyle and classic -- Brattleboro’s Halie Lange and Linnea Jahn. Boys freestyle and classic -- Brattleboro’s Graham Glennon.

Boys Basketball: A Division 1st Team -- Brattleboro’s Chris McAuliffe. A Division 2nd Team -- Brattleboro’s Isaac Roach. C Division 1st Team -- Mike Bergeron and Drew Barnum of Leland & Gray. C Division 2nd Team -- Kendrick Mills and Mike Labeau of Bellows Falls, Billy Nupp of Leland & Gray. D Division 1st Team -- Twin Valley’s Colin Lozito and Dal Nesbitt.

Girls Basketball: A Division 2nd Team -- Brattleboro’s Kayla Savage. C Division 1st Team -- Ashley Goddard of Leland & Gray and Abbi Molner of Twin Valley. C Division 2nd Team -- Alex Morrow and Haley Buffum of Leland & Gray; Emily Dufault, Enny Mustapha and Chelsea Wilder of Bellows Falls.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions