Not many primary contests, filings show


BRATTLEBORO -- The only excitement is in the Senate.

That's the picture that emerged over the past week as state officials finalized a list of candidates who have filed papers to run for Windham County's legislative seats in the Aug. 26 primary.

There are no primary-election battles for any of the county's House seats. While additional House of Representatives candidates have filed as independents for November's general election, independent candidates do not participate in Vermont's primary.

That means the only local, legislative contest in the primary is among four Democrats who are running for two available Windham County Senate nominations.

The following is a look at the local candidates running in the primary for state office, according to data compiled by the Vermont Secretary of State's office. The Reformer will continue to profile candidates individually throughout the primary season:

-- Windham County Senate (includes all Windham County towns except Wilmington and Londonderry):

Four Democrats are running for two Senate nominations -- Roger Allbee of Townshend, Becca Balint of Brattleboro, Joan Bowman of Putney and Jeanette White of Putney (incumbent).

There also will be two Liberty Union candidates on the primary ballot for Senate -- Aaron Diamondstone of Marlboro and Jerry Levy of Brattleboro.

No Republican candidates filed to run for Windham County Senate.

-- Bennington County Senate (includes town of Wilmington):

There are two seats. Primary candidates are Democratic Sen. Dick Sears, an incumbent, along with Democrat Brian Campion and Republican Warren H. Roaf. All are from Bennington. Current Democratic Sen. Robert Hartwell of Wilmington is not seeking a new term.

-- Windsor County Senate (includes town of Londonderry):

There are three seats. Primary candidates are incumbent Democratic Sens. John Campbell of Hartford, Richard "Dick" McCormack of Bethel and Alice W. Nitka of Ludlow.

-- State House, Windham District 1 (Guilford and Vernon): The only candidate is incumbent Rep. Michael "Mike" Hebert, R-Vernon.

-- State House, Windham District 2-1 (part of Brattleboro): Incumbent Democratic Rep. Valerie A. Stuart is the sole candidate.

-- State House, Windham District 2-2 (part of Brattleboro): Incumbent Democratic Rep. Mollie S. Burke is the only candidate.

-- State House, Windham District 2-3 (part of Brattleboro): Democratic incumbent Rep. Tristan Toleno is the only candidate.

-- State House, Windham District 3 (Athens, Brookline, Grafton, Rockingham, Windham and part of Westminster): There are two seats in the district; incumbent Democratic Reps. Carolyn Partridge of Windham and Matt Trieber of Rockingham are the only primary candidates.

-- State House, Windham District 4 (Dummerston, Putney and part of Westminster): There are two seats in the district; incumbent Democratic Reps. David Deen of Westminster and Mike Mrowicki of Putney are running.

-- State House, Windham District 5 (Marlboro, Newfane and Townshend):

Democrat Emily Long of Newfane is the only candidate. Current Rep. Dick Marek, D-Newfane, is not seeking another term.

-- State House, Windham District 6 (Halifax, Wilmington and part of Whitingham): Incumbent Democratic Rep. Ann Manwaring is the sole candidate.

-- State House, Windham-Bennington District (Dover, Readsboro, Searsburg, Somerset, Stamford, Wardsboro and part of Whitingham): Incumbent Democratic Rep. John Moran is the sole primary candidate.

-- State House, Windham-Bennington-Windsor District (Jamaica, Londonderry, Stratton, Weston and Winhall): Progressive Teresa Ellsworth of Londonderry is listed as the only primary candidate. Current Rep. Tim Goodwin, a Weston independent, is not seeking another term.

There also are several local candidates running for statewide office in the primary, including several under the Liberty Union banner:

-- For governor, the primary list includes Pete Diamondstone, a Liberty Union candidate from Brattleboro, and Emily Peyton, a Republican candidate from Putney.

-- For secretary of state, Mary Alice Herbert of Putney is running as a Liberty Union candidate.

The state's primary-election list also lists candidates for other Windham County offices including:

-- State's attorney: Incumbent Tracy Kelly Shriver, a Brattleboro Democrat, is the sole candidate.

-- Sheriff: Incumbent Democrat Keith D. Clark of Westminster and Thomas Finnell of Brattleboro, a Liberty Union candidate.

-- Probate judge: Robert M. Pu, Democrat from Brattleboro. Pu currently serves as probate judge.

-- Assistant judge: Lamont Barnett of Rockingham, Democrat; Patricia W. Duff of Brattleboro, Democrat; Paul Kane of Westminster, Democrat; Alice Landsman of Brattleboro, Liberty Union; and Lynn Russell of Brattleboro, Liberty Union. Duff and Barnett currently serve as assistant judges.

-- High bailiff: Stefan A. Golec of Rockingham, Democrat.

The state has compiled a separate list of candidates who have qualified to run in November's general election. Locally, they include:

-- Windham state Senate: Marry Hasson of Brattleboro, independent.

-- State House, Windham District 3: Deborah Wright of Rockingham, independent.

-- State House, Windham-Bennington District: Laura Sibilia of Dover, independent; Philip Gilpin Jr. of Dover, independent.

-- State House, Windham-Bennington-Windsor District: Oliver Olsen of Londonderry, independent.

-- Governor: Emily Peyton of Putney, independent.

Mike Faher can be reached at or 802-254-2311, ext. 275.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions