Shrine Bowl is today


HANOVER, N.H. -- The stage is set for the 61st annual Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl, when 72 of the finest high school football players from New Hampshire and Vermont clash on Dartmouth College’s Memorial Field. Kickoff is set for today at 5:30 p.m.

The two teams held final workouts Thursday at Castleton State College where they have practiced for a week before heading to Hanover for workouts on Memorial Field Friday afternoon.

Captains for both teams have been announced. For Vermont, the captains are James Shufelt from Lyndon Institute, Oliver Kaija from Woodstock Union, Josh Stearns from Middlebury and Sam Smith from Middlebury.

For New Hampshire, the captains are Marc Gaudet from Concord, Eric Waddington from Dover, Jason Martinez from Salem and Alex Parenteau from Keene.

The Granite Staters won last year’s game, 43-0, and now have a 45-13-2 record against the Green Mountain Boys.

In addition to the football game, there will be a spectacular parade down Main Street of Hanover at noon, featuring over 2,000 marchers. There will be Shrine units from seven Shrine Centers in the Northeast, All-Star cheerleaders, floats and the whole parade will be led by a 100-member High School All-Star Band which will also perform at halftime.

Tickets for the Bowl Game will be on sale at Memorial Field today, beginning at 10 a.m.

Fun Run

BRATTLEBORO -- The results for Wednesday’s Fun Run event on Upper Dummerston Road are as follows:

1 Mile: 1st)Cadance Gilbert, 8:12; 2nd)Jace Joslyn, 8:28; 3rd)Joey Reynolds, 8:40; 4th)Matthew Worden, 9:15; 5th)Emily Worden, 9:33; 6th)Lori Worden, 9:46; 7th)Peyton Joslyn, 10:28; 8th)Archer Parks, 12:38.

2 Miles: 1st)Marshall Gilbert, 17:56.

3 Miles: 1st)Robert Lind, 17:15; 2nd)Clint Joslyn, 17:37; 3rd)Bob Parks, 18:24; 4th)Daniel Bruce, 20:38; 5th)Jake Velazquez, 20:59; 6th)John Majonan, 21:42; 7th)Tony Blofson, 23:40; 8th)Chuck Adams, 23:47; 9th)Joe Ninesling, 23:51; 10th)Angella Joslyn, 24:28; 11th)Starr Bruce, 25:15; 12th)Gregory Fitzgerald, 25:29; 13th)Nora Travis, 25:36; 14th)Nicole James, 25:44; 15th)Doug McCrae, 26:58; 16th)Liz Wolf, 27:12; 17th)Meghan Marshall, 29:42.

2.4 Mile Trail: 1st)Ryan Gilligan, 15:16; 2nd)Patrick Gilligan, 19:10; 3rd)Tyler Clement, 19:37; 4th)Eric Evans, 21:06; 5th)Scott Hamm, 21:15; 6th)Bob Lance, 22:03; 7th)Fred Ross III, 22:04; 8th)Geri Walton, 27:17; 9th)Defending Australian Start Champion Serge Pouliot, 31:23.

Youth Track

ST. JOHNSBURY -- The Brattleboro youth track team finished first in the small community category this year, after placing second in 2013.

There were 19 teams that competed. There were 13 Brattleboro athletes that participated. Again, Michael and Jenn Lonardo did a fabulous job coaching, with the help of the Rec Department, a few parent volunteers, and Junior coach, 16-year-old John Matthew Lonardo.

The St. Johnsbury meet is set up more like a regular track meet, with events that were not included in the Hershey Meet. John’s help with the shot put and discus was extremely valuable. Most of these athletes had never held a shot or a disc and they proved to be amazing.

Brattleboro’s Delaney Bullock, age 15, broke the records in the Girls 13-15 800 meter run and the 1600 meter run. This was her last year to compete since she will be 16 next year.

Members of the Brattleboro team are: Nev Beauchamp, Kharisma Boyd, Delaney Bullock, James Dougan, Maxin Hlavaty, Kelsey Kissell, Caitlin Lonardo, Carley "Bear" Lonardo, Isabella Lonardo, Maggie Lonardo, Olivia Romo, Willow Romo and Hazel Wagner.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions