South slams North, 54-19


MIDDLEBURY — Fair Haven quarterback Ryan Alexander threw two touchdown passes and Cam Slade of Rutland had a pair of TD receptions as the South demolished the North, 54-19, in the annual Vermont Senior Game on Saturday at Middlebury College.

There were seven area players on the winning team, including five from Division 2 runnerup Bellows Falls and two from the 4-5 Colonels who made the D-1 playoffs for the first time in 10 years. Brattleboro's Taylor King (DB) had a couple of interceptions for the South and classmate Aleks Harrison (LB) finished with six tackles.

The South has now won this matchup four of the last five years. The North won last year's meeting, 31-28.

South roster

Devin Hogan, Chris McKeen, Zac Streeter, Nathan Fairbrother and Tyson Taylor of Bellows Falls; Aleks Harrison and Taylor King of Brattleboro; Will Baker, Jimmy LeMusilo, Codi Roberts, Murray Senecal and Will Tucker of Burr and Burton; Ryan Alexander, Logan Bathalon, Lucas Czarnecki and Tyler Wilson of Fair Haven; Walter Judd, Jake Perkins (injured), Justin Pero and Tanner Potter of Hartford; Nick Beauchamp, Oakley Gordon, Wyatt Laberge, Jerry Nemo and Sawyer Ryan of Middlebury; Zach Allen, Ethan Merriam and Dylan Shelvey of Mill River; Damon Burgess and Broday Farnum of Mount Anthony; Jonah Farrow of Mount St. Joseph; Tyler Allen, M.J. Denis, Carson Leary and Trevor Peduto of Otter Valley; Nick Grant of Oxbow; Jordan Grenier of Poultney; Steve Ell, Andy Kenosh, Austin O'Gorman, Cam Slade and Caleb White of Rutland; Ben Tubbs of Springfield; Nick Kapuscinski of Windsor; and Jackson Wood of Woodstock; head coach Brian Grady or Fair Haven.

North roster

David Legris of BFA-Fairfax; Jarad Clark, Tanner Cioffi and Nick Hale of BFA-St. Albans; Jason Crisman, Connor Plante and Clark Stephenson of Burlington; Sam Belisle, Jeremy Fuller, Kiernan Kittredge and Richard Lowery of Champlain Valley; Travis Boutin, Ryan Casey (injured), Justin Evans, Dakota Navari and Kyle Walker of Colchester; Elliot Boutin, Nathan Baliff, Eli DiGrande, Marshall Murphy, Cole Picard, Alex Russell (injured) and Colby Trudeau of Essex; Ryley Rodger of Lyndon; Kyle Apgar, Logan Bean, Brad Bombard, Ian Kandizor and Zach Robtoy of Milton; Logan Day of Missisquoi Valley; Jack Eisenhower, Matt Mullen and Ryan Paquin of Mount Abraham; Dominic Mosca of Mount Mansfield; John Ricard and Hunter Stanley of North Country; Cam Cousino of Rice Memorial; Hatcher D'Agostino and Xavier Giddings of St. Johnsbury; Colby Barrett and Ian Bullis of South Burlington; Drew Lamb of Spaulding; Colby Brochu, Keough Darling and Matt Greene of Union 32; and Brandon Bigelow of Winooski; head coach Marty Richards of Mount Mansfield.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions