Town Meeting 2016: All articles approved in Whitingham


WHITINGHAM >> Residents went through over 30 articles on Tuesday at annual Town Meeting.

"Everything passed exactly as written," said Town Clerk Almira Aekus, who reported a turnout of 329 voters by counting town ballots.

Altogether there were 867 voters on an election checklist in Whitingham.

The only contested race saw Gregory Brown elected to a three-year Selectboard term. He was running against Skip Tefft.

Voters approved of a general operating budget of $562,582. A figure of $287,221 will be raised in taxes. The balance will be offset by $187,259 in anticipated revenues with $88,112 appropriated from last fiscal year's fund balance.

The Twin Valley school budget of $10,192,681 passed by Australian ballot. It passed in Wilmington, too. The towns consolidated schools but maintain separate districts.

In Whitingham, Aimee Reed was elected school director for two years and Dwight Williams will take on a three-year term.

Voters approved of raising and appropriating $110,000 for the town's use of school property and $7,093 for Town Hill Common maintenance and improvement. Another $72,058 will go towards the town's fire department and $20,000 will be put in the department's equipment fund.

Town highway maintenance and repair funding was approved at a figure of $1,253,062 with $1,114,935 coming from taxes and $119,146 in anticipated revenues plus last year's fiscal balance leftover of $18,980. The highway equipment fund will get $85,000.

Also approved was $76,355 for the Whitingham Free Public Library with $63,580 to be raised in taxes, and the balance to be offset by $12,775 in anticipated donations; $10,000.00 for a municipal facilities fund; $10,000 for Deerfield Valley Rescue; $16,900 for town cemeteries; $10,000 for Old Home Week activities; $4,700 for the new Twin Valley Youth Sports Program and $1,795 to the Wings Community Program's Celebrate Summer program. Several social service organizations received funding support from the town.

Elected were Allan Twitchell for a two-year term as Selectboard member; Leon Corse for town and school moderator; Aekus for treasurer, town clerk and collector of delinquent taxes; Jenepher Burnell as lister for three years, Susan Cooke Johnson for grand juror and town agent for three years; Lucas Earle as library trustee for three years and Maryann Johnson as library trustee for three years. No cemetery commissioner was elected for the open three-year position.

Contact Chris Mays at or 802-254-2311, ext. 273.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions