Town Meeting 2016: Gartenstein re-elected to Selectboard


BRATTLEBORO >> David Gartenstein will serve again on the Selectboard after receiving the majority of the votes during Tuesday's election.

"I thank the voters of the town of Brattleboro for their vote of confidence," he said. "I look forward to continuing to work on behalf of the town for the next year. We have substantial projects ahead including a decision that will be made soon about the police-fire project and we look forward to receiving everybody's input."

For another one-year seat, former board member Dick DeGray was beat out by newcomer Avery Schwenk who had 1,505 votes. DeGray had one less.

Running unopposed for a three-year seat, Selectboard Vice Chairwoman Kate O'Connor received 2,564 votes.

Other unopposed positions were reported Tuesday. Lawrin Crisp received 2,654 votes for moderator. J. Eric Annis had 2,525 votes for lister. Richard Cooke received 2,585 votes for first constable. David Emery had 2,638 votes second constable. Marshall Wheelock received 2,599 votes for trustee of public funds.

Jill Stahl-Tyler was elected school director for three years with 2,555 votes. Todd Roach and Mark Truhan will both serve as school directors for one year. Roach received 2,231 votes while Truhan had 2,057. Robert Woodworth will be Brattleboro Union High School director after getting 2,526 votes.

Town Meeting representatives elected in District 1 for three years include Katherine Dowd, Elwin Hamilton, Prudence MacKinney, Paul Melton and Walter Slowinski. Pamela Case and Sarah Dinicola were elected for a one-year term in the district.

Serving as Town Meeting representatives in District 2 for three years will be William (Joe) Bushey, Kurt Daims, Maya Hasegawa, Elizabeth (Bety) Judson, Richard Langlois, Sylvia Lyon, Dylan Mackinnon, Georgia Morgan, Jackie Stromberg, Robert Tortolani, Francine Vallario and Marshall Wheelock.

Franz Reichsman was elected as a Town Meeting representative in District 2 for a two-year term.

Serving as Town Meeting representatives for three years in District 3 will be Spoon Agave, John Bixby, Mary Ellen Bixby, Roni Byrne, David Emery, Richard Evers, Betsy Gentile, David Manning, Elizabeth (Liz) McLoughilin, Roger Miller, Dennis Newman, Sandra Page, William Penniman and Leo Schiff.

In the same district, James Maxwell was elected for a two-year term.

Contact Chris Mays at or 802-254-2311, ext. 273.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions