Volunteers honored by Kurn Hattin Homes


WESTMINSTER -- Kurn Hattin Homes held its Annual Volunteer Recognition Banquet on April 22 to honor and thank the many people who devoted their personal time and energy to volunteering on campus throughout the year. The residential school and home, which serves at-risk children aged 6-15, has over 100 volunteers who dedicate their time, talent and care for the children.

Co-Executive Director Tom Fahner describes the volunteers as the lifeblood of the community, some working with Kurn Hattin for decades "Our volunteers are very committed, one of our most precious resources. The children truly appreciate having someone take a special interest in their well-being." The team helps with governance, school activities, sports, music and special events. Fahner notes that developing a team of great volunteers is a process. It is one that begins with safety and security protocols, history and training, and appropriately matching the skills and interests of the volunteer with the needs of the children and organization. "The gift of service is mutually beneficial. Different generations can learn skills, kindness, and wisdom from one another." Addressing the gathered volunteers at the banquet, he told them how important their efforts were, "We could not do many of these programs without you."

Every year the Kurn Hattin volunteers are recognized at this special dinner in their honor.

This year’s honorees are: Bill Abbott, David Adams, Donna Aldrich, David Baldasaro, Jerry L. Bardwell, Julie Barry, Mildred Barry, Carol Bazin, Diane Bazin, Jeff Bianconi, Sue Bingaman, Carolyn Blake-Deyo, Michael Blau, John Bohannon, Bill and Barbara Brackett, Carol Brennan-Johnson, Gordon Bristol, Scott Bundy, Donald Campbell, Leslie Canavan, Gary Carrier, Fran Cheslock, Sheriff Keith Clark, Paul Clough, Gary Cobb, Pat Crotty.

Also, Marion Daley, Jamie Dansereau, Mary Davis, Ruth DeMone, Steve Durand, Tim Eno, Tom and Donna Fahner, Carol Failla, Deborah Fajans, Michael Fawcett, Bill Fenn, Amy Fletcher, Mona Frye, Justin and Shannon Fuller, Chris Goding, Christopher Hackett, Father Lance W. Harlow, Robert Harrington, Elizabeth Henry, John and Carol Hubbard, Elliott Hunnewell, Matt Hunter, Geoffrey Illingworth, Lyssa Jackson, Jennifer Jacobs, Tim Janis, Charles P. Kelsey, Kenneth King, Kay Kloppenburg, Michelle Knight, Jon Korpela, Bertha Lawrence, Steve H. Lee, Dorriane Lescord, Abigail Littlefield, Richard Long, James A. Lynch.

Also, the Rev. Sami MacRae, Elizabeth Maiola, Jackie Mallory, Rick Manson, Barbara Matteson, David Maysilles, Tammy Mellish, Michelle Menegaz, Kathleen Michel, Corey Mitchell, Marilyn Moore, Sally Motzer, Merrill Mundell, Keri Newton, Sue Nostrand, Michael J. Obuchowski, Sara and Ben Olson, Virgina Onorato, Frank Patterson, Rebecca Pedigo, Charles Pelchar, Mary Kay Pfadenhauer, Mrs. Frank J. Prindl, Jasmin Queen, Caryl Richardson, Marilyn Roberts, Anna Rossi, Anita Roy, Karen and Stan Rumrill.

Also, Carmen Sanderson, William J. Scarlett, IV, Sheldon Scott, Catherine Semans, Donald Shaughnessy, Tina Smith, Lindsey Soboleski, Annette Spaulding and Patrick Madden, Malcolm Streeter, Janice Sussebach, Sierra Sylvester-Patterson, Scotty Tabachnick, Polly Thompson, Matt Tomberg, Vern and Roberta (Bobbi) Violette, Trudy Walker, Gary West, Joan Willey, Ronald M. Williams, Janet Wilson, Greg Worden, and Larry and Bette Wunderle.

For information: www.kurnhattin.org.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions