Wickenden, Longsmith, O'Donnell, Gilligan prevail


BRATTLEBORO >> Forty-five people participated in Wednesday's Fun Run on Upper Dummerston Road, with the race winners being Silas Wickenden, Desmond Longsmith, Conor O'Donnell and Ryan Gilligan.

Wickenden, 7, was clocked in 8:15 in the one-mile race. He was followed home by Jessica Marlier (8:48), Halen Ravslow (9:24), Adam Franklin-Lyons (9:26), Hailey Richards (9:35), Tammy Richards (9:45), Louie Alden (10:00), Cynthia Parker-Houghton (11:15), Joy Hammond (11:25), Lewis Shipman (11:36), Nate Shipman (11:37), Margaret Shipman (11:37), Jesse (12:09), Pauline Dean (12:13), Elana Wickenden (13:20) and Maggie Wickenden (13:21).

In the two-mile battle, Desmond Longsmith (18:08) beat David Longsmith (18:09) by a nose. Rounding out the field were Leo Schiff (18:26), Alyson Montgomery (20:34), Ava Ferencz (21:24), Sara and Saul Longsmith (24:05), Donnalie Corey (24:39), Allison Corey (24:35) and Zoe Humphreys (25:04).

Competing in the three-miler were O'Donnell (20:20), Amelia Opsahl (21:46), Tony Blofson (23:25), Bob Woodworth (25:41), Scott Hamm (25:47), Shane Covey (26:56), Morgen Parker-Houghton (28:45), Lester Humphreys (30:32) and Doug McCrae (30:59).

Gilligan (16:49), Josh Dillingham (18:15) and John Majonen (18:35) had the podium finishes in the 2.4-mile trail run. After that it was Fred Ross 3rd (21:04), John Duff (22:07), Nicole James (22:19), Mike Dimick (22:27), Jennifer Garrett (22:31), Katherine Innis (22:37), Bob Glennon (29:07) and two-time Australian Start champion Serge Pouliot (34:21).

The next Fun Run will be held on Wednesday, June 15, at 6:30 p.m., at the entrance to the Brattleboro Country Club.

Online registration is now open for the Bill Powers Memorial Firecracker 4-Miler on July 4, which starts at Living Memorial Park and finishes at the Town Common. The early entry fee is $10 (up until 1 p.m. on July 3) or $15 on race day. Go to RunSignUp.com to register.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions