Windham Regional Career Center hosts award night


BRATTLEBORO >> The Windham Regional Career Center held its Senior Celebration Evening on June 8 in the Brattleboro Area Middle School multipurpose room with senior displays for the parents to view in the BAMS cafeteria.

Seven students were nominated and inducted into the National Technical Honor Society. Maribeth Cornell, NTHS advisor and instructor of WRCC Business classes introduced each student, who went through a rigorous essay based application process, earned an A each quarter in their Career Center program and maintained at least a B average in their other academic courses this year. The inductees are: Colette Anton, Intro to Early Childhood Education and Film Making; Lexi Butler, Intro to Early Childhood Education and Accounting; Sara Forrett, Accounting, Speech and Presentation and Word and Excel Applications; Haley Frechette, Principles of Bio-Medical and Human Body Systems; Seth Rhodes, Automotive Sub Systems and Electrical; and Brooke Roberts, Intro to Early Childhood Education and Infant and Toddler Development and Honour Solari, Intro to Early Childhood Education and Infant and Toddler Development.

Betsy Gentile, WRCC Ambassador Advisor, recognized the 2015-16 WRCC ambassadors: Adison Clark, Andrew Downs, Diamond Gilbert, Ethen Waterman, Garrett Williams, Garrett Winchester, Hannah Blake, Jack Ochukpue, Jemez Jobin, Jeremy Lackey, Jocelyn Aither, Laura Freeman, Megan Pennell, Morgan Dow, Peter Loomis, Sara Gauthier, Shaeline Rivera, Theresa Snow and Tyler Clement.

The WRCC Students of the Month: Adison Clark, Will LaPorte, Theresa Snow, Morgan Dow, Sarah Forrett, Manny Vargas, Ben Tarleton, Justin Souvanh and Jeremy Lackey.

Jim Valliere, automotive instructor to present the Twin State Trucking Scholarship, presented the scholarship to Morgan Dow and the WRCC Automotive Tools for Success Award to Brandon Niemczyk.

The Franklin Auto NAPA Parts Supplier Award was presented to Morgan Dow. Valliere also presented the Stop & Go Instant Oil Change Scholarship to Brandon Niemczyk. Eleanor Thomas presented the Richard & Marion Thomas Student Scholarship to Sarah Forrett and the Warner L. Thomas Business Student Scholarship was awarded to Molly Atamaniuk.

The Brattleboro Savings and Loan Scholarship to Sarah Forrett by Donna Rathbun. Kathy Ellor presented the Brattleboro Kiwanis Club of Brattleboro Scholarship to Theresa Snow. Chef Yaeko Fernandez presented the Whetstone Station Restaurant & Brewery Award to Laura Freeman. David Hotin, WRCC Electronics instructor, presented the A.L. Tyler & Sons Award to Josh Simeon. The Ernest Flagg Scholarship was presented by Barb Vinci to Teagan Day. Jil MacMenamin presented the Brattleboro Garden Club Scholarship to Sarah Forrett. Duane Young presented the Brent Young Award to Cody Hellus. Dennis Hamilton presented the Brown & Roberts Ace Hardware Award to Cody Hellus. Sam Rowley presented the Leader Home Center Award to Kohlin Bostrom. The Archilles Agway Award was presented to Morgan Dow. Rowley also presented the Horticulture Program Student Award to Kohlin Bostrom. Doug Bramble presented the G.S. Precision Scholarship to Justin Souvanh. The Swiss Precision Scholarship was presented by Ray Dunn to Hannah Wilson. Anne Doran presented the Vermont Honors Scholarship to Tyler Clement.

Burnett presented the James Cusick Memorial Award to Peyton Eisler and the William Dennen Overall WRCC Outstanding Student to Theresa Snow.

In closing, Burnett recognized three staff members that are not returning to WRCC next year. Bramble and Hamilton are both retiring this year and Rowley has accepted a new position in northern Vermont.

Joyce Rathbun is the administrative assistant at the Windham Regional Career Center. She can be contacted at


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions