Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

As India marked 75 years of its independence this week on Monday, President Joe Biden and more than two dozen of politicians joined voices to convey best wishes and thoughts on the occasion.

On the eve of India’s Independence, Biden in a White House statement conveyed his compliments to the Southeast Asian nation.

“India and the United States are indispensable partners, and the U.S.-India Strategic Partnership is grounded in our shared commitment to the rule of law and the promotion of human freedom and dignity," Biden said. "Our partnership is further strengthened by the deep bonds between our people. The vibrant Indian-American community in the United States has made us a more innovative, inclusive  and stronger nation.”

As a part of the Indian government’s initiative, Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav, launched to celebrate 75 years of Indian independence, 24 U.S. House representatives and eight U.S. senators took to their own or the Indian Embassy’s Twitter handle to extend their warm thoughts and greetings on the solemn yet celebratory moment for Indians in the U.S. and across the world.

Support our journalism. Subscribe today. →

The U.S. representatives who shared their thoughts on the occasion were Alabama’s Jeremy Gray, Arizona’s David Schweikert, Georgia’s Kwanza Hall, California’s Ro Khanna, Florida’s Mike Waltz and Ted Deutsch, Hawaii’s Ed Case, Illinois’ Raja Krishnamoorthi, Maryland’s Steny Hoyer, Michigan’s Haley Stevens, Nevada’s Dina Titus and Steven Horsford, New Hampshire’s Chris Pappas, New York’s Gregory Meeks, North Carolina’s Deborah Ross, Ohio’s Steve Chabot, Pennsylvania's Brian Fitzpatrick, South Carolina’s James Clyburn, Joe Wilson and Ralph Norman, San Diego’s Scott Peters and Texas’ Joaquin Castro, Marc Veasy and Pete Sessions.

Two congressmen of Indian descent had stirring emotional tidbits. Krishnamoorthi, while sharing his thoughts, spoke about his connection with the Indian soil as his birthplace. Khanna, another one of the speakers, reminisced about his freedom fighter grandfather’s legacy and how his grandfather’s world view continues to influence his own even to the present day.

The eight U.S. senators who offered their congratulations to the country were Connecticut’s Chris Murphy, Georgia’s Jon Ossoff, Indiana’s Todd Young, Montana’s Steve Daines, New Jersey’s Cory Booker, Tennessee’s Bill Hagerty, Texas’ John Kornyn and Virginia’s Mark Warner.

They all stressed the importance of the growing democratic relationship between the oldest democracy and the largest democracy of the globe, ascribing India as a critical ally of the U.S. and pillar for bilateral support.

They acknowledged the historic milestone and lauded the values of stability, security, strong partnerships, promotion of peace, positive influences, cultural enrichment, prosperity and happiness that are shared between the two countries.