Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — After going 7-2-5 during the regular season, the 1990 Brattleboro Union High School varsity field hockey team beat Mount Anthony Union 1-0 in five overtimes in a Division 1 quarterfinal. The Colonels would then fall to Colchester 3-2 in three overtimes in a semifinal.

Sarah Duzinski, who finished up with five assists, won the inaugural Jennifer Wells Award — named for a BUHS athlete who had died a year earlier while awaiting a heart and lung transplant — at the team’s banquet at the American Legion. Also earning hardware were: Michelle Cusick (Coaches’ Award), Melissa Stewart (Most Improved), Carla Lewis (Colonel Award) and Kari Greenbaum (MVP).

“Jen Wells was never a great technical player, but she played hard and had fun,” coach Sherryl Libardoni said. “Sarah played the same way.”

Four-year awards went to Karin Walker, Gabrielle Glick, Lewis, Duzinski, Cusick and Greenbaum. Denise Brown was named the junior varsity team’s Most Improved Player.

Shane Covey can be reached at or 802-254-2311 X163. On Twitter: @ShaneCovey.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us.
We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.