The Brattleboro Reformer has lifted the paywall on all coronavirus stories that provide critical public health information to readers. To support vital reporting such as this, please consider a digital subscription today.

10 area seniors named hoops all-stars

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — COVID-19 concerns may have robbed Rachael Rooney of one last chance to be a hero.

The Brattleboro senior, who sank a pair of free throws with 0.1 seconds left to give the Colonel girls a 50-48 win over Burr and Burton in the season opener and later drilled a 3 as time expired in her team's thrilling one-point victory over Monument Mountain, could have ended her career with a dagger on March 21 at Windsor High School.

But the Vermont Basketball Coaches Association's annual all-star event never even happened because of the deadly virus.

"I was very upset when I found out that it was canceled. It really sucks when you've been working hard and looking forward to something, and for that to be taken away from you," Rooney noted. "But I understand it's more important for everyone to stay safe and healthy. I would have had an amazing time playing with all the great players in Vermont. It's very unfortunate that we were all unable to do that."

She would have been playing on the Division 1-2 South girls team along with 1,000-point scorer Grace Mahar of rival Mount Anthony Union.

Article Continues After Advertisement

"It feels like such an accomplishment. It actually meant so much to me to get that phone call and be able to finally play with the other girls that I have been playing against my entire life," said Rooney.

Article Continues After These Ads

Brattleboro's Tyler Millerick and Charlie Galanes would have played for the South All-Stars in the Division 1-2 boys game. The playmaker and dangerous forward scored 20 and 12 points respectively in a first-round playoff game against Essex on Feb. 26.

Also earning a roster spot from this area were Ryan Kelly and Taylor Goodell — the 10th and 11th Bellows Falls players to reach the 1,000-point milestone, Halle Dickerson (she erupted for 29 points when the Terriers handed West Rutland its lone loss this season), Leland & Gray's Sydney Hescock and Arin Bates, and Twin Valley's leading scorer and rebounder in Jack McHale and Dylan Dupuis.

Below are the complete rosters for each South All-Star team, which would have taken on the best in the North at Windsor High School on March 21.

Article Continues After Advertisement

Division 1-2 Girls South Team: Rachael Rooney (Brattleboro), Josie Choiniere (Saint Johnsbury), Rylee Burgess (Rutland), Kristen Varin (Rice), Grace Pinkus (Burr and Burton), Gabby Wardwell (Springfield), Grace Mahar (Mount Anthony Union), Lindsey Joyal (Lyndon), Kerigan Disorda (Fair Haven), Kennedy Mullen (Hartford), Teagan Wheller (Lyndon), Hailey Perham (Springfield), Molly Bruso (Mill River), Kyleigh Grenier (Fair Haven), Carly Hill (Rice), coach Steve Landon (Woodstock).

Division 1-2 Boys South Team: Charlie Galanes (Brattleboro), Tyler Millerick (Brattleboro), Joseph Gannon (Fair Haven), Aubrey Ramey (Fair Haven), Noah Allen (Champlain Valley Union), Ethan Harvey (Champlain Valley Union), Anthony Decarvalho (Essex), Mitchell Moffatt (Essex), Tyler Buxton (Middlebury), Tyler Shelvey (Mill River), Tommy Baker (Burr and Burton), Harrison Morse (Woodstock), Liam Kelliher (Mount Abraham), Malik Hendrickson (Rutland), Noah Zierfus (Springfield), coach John Howe (Middlebury).

Division 3-4 Girls South Team: Taylor Goodell (Bellows Falls), Halle Dickerson (Bellows Falls), Sydney Hescock (Leland & Gray), Arin Bates (Leland & Gray), Livia Bernhardt (Otter Valley), Alia Edmunds (Otter Valley), Leah Pinkowski (Otter Valley), Allie Almond (Proctor), Lindsey Elms (Proctor), Maddie Flanders (Proctor), Kiera Pipeling (West Rutland), Jenee McGee (West Rutland), Deanna Kenyon (West Rutland), Emily Rooney (Vergennes), Cassidy Mack (Poultney), coach Kelly Trayah (Otter Valley).

Division 3-4 Boys South Team: Ryan Kelly (Bellows Falls), Jack McHale (Twin Valley), Dylan Dupuis (Twin Valley), Zach Gould (Rivendell), Joe Valerio (Proctor), Alex Emerson (Thetford), Olly Skeet-Browning (Sharon), Heith Mason (Poultney), Logan Starling (Proctor), Luke Seno (Rivendell), Kolby Wilkins (Arlington), James Anderson (Green Mountain), Kyle Loughlin (West Rutland), Eli Dufner (Thetford), Ryan Smith (West Rutland), coach Jordan Tolar (West Rutland).


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions