4 area baseball players make MVL First Team

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — When talking about players doing well at new positions this season, 99.5 The Beast radio announcers Tim Johnson and Bill Holiday agreed that first-year varsity catcher Tyler Millerick was probably capable of having success anywhere on the field.

The junior, who was asked to replace the best backstop in the state in Dan Petrie, was named a Marble Valley League All-Star after helping the Brattleboro Union High School baseball team to an 11-7 record in 2019. BUHS pitcher/outfielder Brenden Gilbeau was also placed on the Division A First Team.

Adam Newton, who was in a zone during the playoffs, was given Honorable Mention. The senior had a huge day in the first round against Rutland, firing a one-hitter and helping himself by going 4-for-4 with four RBI. He then led the Colonels with a pair of hits against top-seeded CVU.

Coach of the Year honors for the B Division went to Bob Lockerby, who guided Bellows Falls (8-10) to a quarterfinal. He is joined on that All Star team by center fielder McGregor Vancor, who went 2 for 3 versus Brattleboro on a cold and windy day.

Leland & Gray's Christian Thomsen is an MVL Division C First Teamer. The senior fanned 14, walked four, and threw a three-hitter during his team's 4-2 win in Westminster.

Three members of the Fair Haven and Black River varsity baseball teams were named All Stars after winning it all, including the Slaters' 3-1 decision over Otter Valley in the Division 2 final and the Presidents' 10-1 rout of Danville in the D-4 championship. In the other title tilts this season, CVU outscored Mount Mansfield 5-2 in Division 1 and White River Valley downed Vergennes 9-5 for the D-3 title.

The complete MVL teams are shown below.

Division A

First Team: Brattleboro — Brenden Gilbeau, Tyler Millerick. Rutland — Ben Simpson, Justin Aker. Hartford — Kyle Hamilton. Mount Anthony Union — Charlie Gratton. Burr and Burton — Chandler Pouk, Joey McCoy, Ethan Senecal, Ed Lewicki (coach).

Article Continues After These Ads

Honorable Mentions: Brattleboro — Hunter Beebe, Adam Newton. Burr and Burton — John Morgantini. Mount Anthony Union — Bradie Krawzcyk, Caleb Hay, Thomas Pietryzk. Rutland — Ethan Coarse, Zach Bates.

Division B

First Team: Bellows Falls — McGregor Vancor, Bob Lockerby (coach). Otter Valley — Josh Beayon, Patrick McKeighon, Reilly Shannon, Nate Hudson. Windsor — Robert Slocum. Springfield — Brady Clark, Dylan Merrowe. Fair Haven — Parker Morse, Dylan Lee, Brett Huntley.

Honorable Mentions: Bellows Falls — Jack Brown. Otter Valley — Alex Polli. Windsor — Justin Smith, Jordon Place. Fair Haven — Aubry Ramey, Andrew Lanthier, Aaron Szabo, Jake Stepler, Greg Otis.

Division C

First Team: Leland & Gray — Christian Thomsen. Woodstock — Owen Spann, Sam Mitchell. Poultney — Jacob Debonis, Ryan Alt. Green Mountain — Rex Hill, Dylan McCarthy, Ty Merrill, Reid Hrickiewicz, Matt McCarthy (coach).

Honorable Mentions: Leland & Gray — Kaie Quigley, Dylan Greenwood. Poultney — Spencer Gibbs, Caden Capman. Green Mountain — Nick Davis.

Division D

First Team: Arlington — Jack Lane, Taylor Therriaut, Wil Stewart. Proctor — Jacob May, Kyle Laughlin, Cam Richardson. Black River — Zach Paul, Ryan Boyle, Jim O'Neil (coach). MSJ — Chad Pack.

Honorable Mentions: MSJ — Lucas Pencak, Keaton Wright-Chapman. Proctor — Joe Valario. Black River — Jack Boyle.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions