7 Colonels in Rotary Hockey Classic

BRATTLEBORO — Seven Brattleboro Union High School seniors will play in a Rotary All Star Hockey Classic game on March 24 in Essex. Vermont teams will play against each other, with the girls leading off at 4 p.m. and the boys contest following at 6 p.m.

After helping the Colonel girls to the No. 5 seed in the Division 2 Tournament, Axis Balsley-Petraska, Jamie Mahoney, Olivia Stent, Kharisma Boyd and Chulie Vinton will play for Team Harris in the Rotary Classic.

Balsley-Petraska had a hat trick in the first period of a game in early February and later put away a Lila Alexander feed to beat North Country 2-1 in overtime. Mahoney delivered a game-winner in OT versus Union-32.

Stent, a senior captain, had one goal and one assist during a 5-3 decision over Burr and Burton this season. Boyd applied plenty of pressure during her team's 4-1 win over Hartford, while one of Vinton's best games came against the team from Manchester according to coach Linda Burke.

Brattleboro's Kam Pelkey and Mason Powers will both be members of Team Austin in the boys Rotary Classic. Pelkey finished the season with six goals and 16 assists, while Powers lit the lamp eight times and also set up his teammates for nine tallies.

The dynamic duo helped the Colonels to a 7-12-1 record during the regular season and the No. 8 seed in the Division 2 playoffs.

The complete Rotary Classic rosters are shown below.

The Girls Teams

Harris: Brattleboro — Axis Balsley-Petraska, Jamie Mahoney, Olivia Stent, Kharisma Boyd, Chulie Vinton. Essex — Kylee Hope, Kaitlyn Butkus, Hannah Palmer, Hannah Barrett. Missisquoi — Mae Gates, Alyssa Audet, Adrianna Dostie. Rice — Anisa Tarrant, Grace Benoit, Brynn Murray, Grace Miller. Burlington/Colchester— Tatum Vachereau, Allie Peters. Union-32 — Gabriella Colderon. Spaulding — Ali Ahearn. Woodstock — Lauren Forgione.

Austin: Saint Albans — Molly Marshall. Rutland — Amy Howard, Paige Langlois, Meghan Hamilton, Emma Mazzariello, Olivia Starer. MMU-CVU — Lydia Maitland, Jackie Ryan, Joanna Wright, Lauren Hanley. Middlebury — Satchel McLaughlin, Abby Gleason, Raven Payne, Helen Anderson, Tulley Hescock. Spaulding — Amber McGinley. Northfield — Brianna Doty, Bridget Doney. South Burlington — Claire Wright. Hartford — Emily Ballou.

The Boys Teams

Austin: Brattleboro — Kam Pelkey, Mason Powers. Essex — Ryan Young, Maverick King, Sam Couture, Isaac Johnson, Nathan Theriault. Mount Mansfield — Kyle Wright, Pheonix LaMonda. Woodstock — Steven Townley, Cullen McCarthy. Colchester — Luke Dion, Robbie Davis. Milton — Noah Perry, Patrick Shannon, Cam Goodrich. North Country — Brady Perron. Burr and Burton — Alex Carpenter. Stowe — Sebastian James, Kristian Viljanen. Saint Johnsbury — Chris Sourgiadakis.

Harris: Spaulding — Jackson Clayton, Collin Dickinson, Patrick Brock, Matteo Perantoni, Matt Abut. Saint Albans — Collin Manahan, Jake Hall, Keegan Streeter, Luke Zemianik. CVU — Quinn Francis, Jennings Lobel, Raf Ribero. Union-32 — Zachary Lague, Rory Hynes. Rutland — Glen Mandel. Hartford — Tyler Hamilton. Harwood — Colin Green, Eriks Ziedins, Hunter Wimble. Northfield — Garrett Bean. Lyndon — Krystof Vanek.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions