Bellows Falls track teams looking to defend

Reformer Staff

BRATTLEBORO — The defending Division 3 state champion Bellows Falls girls and boys track teams will hold their first home meet on April 24 versus rival Springfield at 3:30 p.m.

Reno Tuttle is the leading returnee for the BF boys after winning the shot put and discus at the 2017 state meet. Shane Clark (javelin) is also looking to repeat as an individual champion.

Michelle Marchica is back for the BF girls following victories in the 300 hurdles and triple jump at the 2017 state meet. Returnee Savannah Bradbury is Vermont's defending discus champion for D-3.

The Brattleboro teams will open up at home against Mill River on Thursday at 4 p.m.

"We have had a very strong three weeks of practice with this team. Our overriding team goal is to do the work to improve our performance and place at the state meet this year. Doing that will require a growth mindset on the part of every athlete on the team," said Brattleboro coach Kevin Freitas. "We have a strong freshmen class and a substantial number of older experienced athletes with experience and success at the state level."

Leading the way is Jasper Reed, who struck gold in the 100, 200, and long jump at last year's Division 1 state meet. He also placed third in the triple jump.

Evan Koch is also back following his fourth-place finishes in the 110 hurdles and 300 hurdles at states.

Kai Boyd and Maggie Lonardo are the top returnees for the Brattleboro girls. Boyd is Vermont's defending javelin champion, while Lonardo earned silver in the 100 at the 2017 state meet.

Bellows Falls roster: Coach — Tim Eno. Athletes — Kamren Amezcua, Tegan Bacon, Reaghan Baldasaro, Megan Banik, Dominic Bates, Brennen Bickford, Jasmine Boucher, Savannah Bradbury, Stone Bradbury, Dylan Clark, Lia Clark, Shane Clark, Logan Comstock, Haley Covillion, Abbe Cravinho, Baylee Davis, Abby Dearborn, Halle Dickerson, Drew Elliott, Quinn Farmer, Elijah Ghia, Gabe Hakimoglu, Brigid Hodsden, Molly Hodsden, Jacob Howarth, Noah Johnson, Madi Joy, Meagan Kelly, Molly Kelly, Ryan Kelly, Brenna LaDuc, Ethan Lauricella, Emma Lawrence, Emma Lober, Keenan Lowe, Jaden Luebbert, Leanna Mager, Layal Maiocco, Liam Mallan, Dani Marchica, Michelle Marchica, Braden Maxfield, Troy Mounsey, Amber Murray, Hunter O'Connor, Johanna Parker, Emma Perkins, Nic Potter, Jessica Roberts, Rebekah Rounds, Timmy Salter-Roy, Alice Salter-Roy, Birgiss Schemm, Conner Smith, Hunter Smith, Izzy Stack, Tylar Stanley, Macie Streeter, Quentin Taylor, Reno Tuttle, Ian Wallace, Abby Wilbur.

Brattleboro roster: Coach — Kevin Freitas. Athletes — Dory Abdullah, Marie Alves, Leah Amazon, Emily Bacon, Neveah Beauchamp, Chiara Bellitti, Kai Boyd, Kharisma Boyd, Randi Chase, Casey Conkling, Rio Daims, Asia Desmaris, Siobhan Devlin, Amelia Dick, Meghan Forrett, Maggie Frazer-Olson, Sarah Gallagher, Katelynn Hamilton, Marley Hathaway, Maxine Hlavaty, Signe Kuusinen, Elery Loggia, Maggie Lonardo, Winter Matweecha, Honnee McManus, Alexandra Miskovich, Elizabeth Morse, Annaleeza Nuzman, Olivia Ortleib, Billizi Pacheco, Lucy Parks, Megan Pennell, Mya Petrie, Lily Quintero, Caitlyn Robinson, Alina Secrest, Lily Tessitore, Emily Thayer, Angelika Toomey, Alanna Ward, Sarah Wright, Mercer Wyse, Margaret Yost, Michael Anderson, Miles Anton, Paul Aquadro, Benjamin Brady, Ernie Brunton, Colin Costa-Walsh, Emmett Dews, Brandon Dulmaine, Galen Fletcher, Samuel Freitas-Eagan, Isaac Freitas-Eagan, Benjamin Gabriel, Isaiah Gilbeau, Nolan Holmes, Jesse Jerome-Wrenn, Zev Kazati-Morgan, Max King, Trevor Kipp, Evan Koch, Max Lampe, Andy Lin, Eric Lin, Pablo Martinez, Joshua Martyn, Jojo Matias, Logan McKay, Jonmichael McManus, Joseph Meima, Henry O'Connell, Cullen O'Hern, Kade Perotti, Reis Perotti, David Pierce, Jasper Reed, Devon Rinaldi, Alexander Shriver, Kory Stenn, Orion Stone, Bram Tabachnick, Declyn Tourville, Shane Vinton, Liam Woods, Kohki Yoshimura, Dylan Young.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions