BUHS boys lax team to debut in Putney


Reformer Staff

BRATTLEBORO — Due to the current conditions of its home field, the Brattleboro Union High School varsity boys lacrosse team will play its first two games of the season at Landmark College in Putney.

The Colonels will debut on Saturday against Taconic at 11 a.m. and then take on Pittsfield on Monday at 4:15 p.m.

"Landmark has a beautiful new turf field and it's a real asset to have something like this available in our community," said BUHS coach Chris Sawyer.

The purple and white put together five consecutive winning seasons before missing the playoffs in 2016 and 2017. Jack Gagnon, who scored over 100 goals in his varsity career, was one of 13 senior Colonels to graduate a year ago.

"Brattleboro enters the 2018 season with opportunities for a new group of Colonels to make their mark on the program. Although the team graduated most of its starting unit, several letter winners from last year's squad remain," noted Sawyer.

Senior goalkeeper Caleb Martin, who turned in several impressive performances after taking over the position mid-season a year ago, will be back between the pipes and will lead the defense along with returning defenseman Liam McNeil. Seniors Durin Hoyer and Alejandro Cornman, junior Ryan Tyler and sophomore Gus Williams will build off a solid 2017 season, while forward Charles Burroughs returns to front a revamped attack unit.

"The remaining spots will be filled by varsity newcomers eager to compete for their positions. This is a great opportunity for a lot of different kids to find their way and really contribute to our program," stated the Brattleboro coach. "The seniors have provided solid leadership so far, we have some juniors ready to get it going on the varsity level, and we have a lot of talented ninth and 10th graders who look like they can have success this year and in years to come."

Brattleboro boys lacrosse roster: Coach — Chris Sawyer. Seniors — Greg Bristol, Charlie Burroughs, Alejandro Cornman, Carter Falk, Miles Hiler, Durin Hoyer, Caleb Martin, Colton White. Juniors — Isaac Baker, Zach Buckley-Dunbar, Isaiah Clark, Elliott Bauer, Dillon Cudworth, Cameron King, Liam McNeil, Aiden Murphy, Calvin Stebbins, Ryan Tyler, Zach Zumbruski. Sophomores — Dylan Carrasquillo, Jem Cohen, Tanner Edson, Brandon Gilbert, Joe Koes, Reed McKay, Nathan Powers, Isaac Sprague, Cameron Studley, Carter Weeks, Gus Williams, Elias Zumbruski. Freshmen — James Alexa, Anthony Franschetta, Ryan Gerard, Gavin Howard, Josh Roy, Bryson Spinner, Nick Stratton, Trevor Thibault, Forest Wohnus, Austin Wood, Ethan Young.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions