Carroll, Tuttle, Empey in Vermont's corner

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — Vermont will be seeking its fourth consecutive Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl football game victory, with the 66th annual showdown set for Saturday at Castleton University at 5:30 p.m.

Brattleboro's Kris Carroll (linebacker, tight end) and Bellows Falls' Reno Tuttle (defensive lineman, offensive guard) will be on the Vermont team. Carroll helped the BUHS defense limit its rival to just seven points and also caught a five-yard touchdown pass during a victory over Mount Anthony Union in the fall. Tuttle, who was often double-teamed in the trenches, racked up eight tackles and one sack during a 20-18 playoff victory over U-32.

Keegan Murphy, a 310-pound lineman from Keene High School, is a member of the New Hampshire squad.

The Vermont team is coached by Mount Mansfield's Marty Richards. One of his assistants is Bellows Falls line coach Mike Empey.

Also on the roster for the Green Mountain State is quarterback Cam Coloutti. In 2017, he threw a couple of touchdown passes and ran for four more during Fair Haven's 46-20 win over Bellows Falls in the Division 2 championship game.

The Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl is played for the benefit of the Shriners Hospitals and in its first 65 years has raised nearly $5 million. The Bowl Game is one of 30 Shrine Games played every year across the country. This twin state game is sponsored by the two Shrine Centers of Vermont, Cairo (Rutland) and Mt. Sinai (Montpelier).

The Granite Staters have a 47-17-1 record in the series.

Vermont roster: Coaches — Marty Richards, Mike Empey, Norm Lozier, Tim Root, Dave Divelbliss, Craig Sleeman, Manny Fletcher, Mark Ginsburg. Players — Reno Tuttle, Bellows Falls; Jared Salls, BFA-Fairfax/Lamoille; Mark Howrigan, Noah Vincelette, BFA-St. Albans; Manny Dodson, Burlington/South Burlington; Jake Baker, Olivier Cazaudumec, Will Frank, Burr and Burton; Kris Carroll, Brattleboro; Mike Blair, Colchester; Cam Coloutti, Jake Grenier Aaron Szabo, Jesse Tucker, Fair Haven; Nick Porter, Hartford; Josh McQuinn, Milton; Kevin Pearsall, Mount Abraham; Ty Evans, Mount Anthony; Patrick Burke, Jehric Hackney, Mark Howland, Harrison Leombruno-Nicholson, Mount Mansfield; Ryan Byrnes, Evan Eaton, John Rousseau, Andrew Snell, Rice; Noah Crossman, Ryan Moore, Dakota Peters, Rutland; Jacob Allen, Mason Hutchins, Poultney; Renwick Smith, St. Johnsbury; Gaige Williams, U-32; Gavin Harrison, Windsor; Gabe Marisovetere, Cade White, Woodstock.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions