Colonels have captured 11 softball crowns

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — Sarah Linn and Kayla Wood both kept their word.

Linn, who guaranteed a softball state championship following a quarterfinal victory in 1997, went 2-for-4 when Brattleboro Union High School beat rival Mount Anthony Union for all the marbles. Sixteen years later, Wood promised assistant coach Jeff Rawson that the Colonels would reach the finals and then threw three straight shutouts to get them there.

You can decide where those two powerhouses rank in BUHS softball history.

Kathy Georgina is arguably the "G.O.A.T." She guided the purple and white to back-to-back state championships in 1991 and 1992, with a 33-1 record inside the circle in that span and an 0.34 Earned Run Average as a senior.

The 1992 team went 19-0 and finished the season on a 30-game winning streak. Georgina (.603 average), Courtney Christmas (.560) and Becky Nelson (.420) were all crushing it.

Article Continues After Advertisement

"For any team to go undefeated in a season is tough to do," stated former BUHS coach Marybeth Birsky following her team's win over Saint Albans for the 1992 title.

If you base your answer on rings alone, the Colonels were crowned three different times during the Wood era. The flame thrower was 14-1 in the playoffs during her varsity career (2010-2013), including a perfect game and 20 strikeouts in the 2013 finals.

Article Continues After These Ads

"I think her location is what makes her so valuable. She continually hits the corners," coach Kelly Markol said of Wood.

Kelley Houle is the only other area hurler in history to capture consecutive championships, helping the Colonels hoist the trophy in 1978 and 1979. She fired a five-hitter and then a four-hitter in those state title games, respectively, and Brattleboro went 27-9 in those two seasons combined.

"They are great kids to work with. I enjoyed them and believe me, they are intense competitors," said skipper Darrell Sawyer after winning the program's first ever championship in 1978.

Article Continues After Advertisement

His starting lineup that season included Tracy Lamb, Chris Northup, Heather Nelson, Jill Larmie, Lynn Barrett, Theresa Tkaczyk, Pat Johnson, Linda Lawrence, Kathy Gragen and Houle.

The Colonels also had victory parades in 1983, 1985 and 1989. Ann Wheelock, Dani Grassi and Dawn Prouty were the pitchers for those state champions.

The 1983 BUHS team went 18-0, including an 8-5 win over Missisquoi in the finals, which definitely puts them in the conversation here. Barbie Barrett, known for only striking out once in her varsity career, was the team captain and MVP.

"Coaching a group as talented as they are is easy," Sawyer once said of that 1983 club.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions