Costa-Walsh, Lange are defending Turkey Trot champs

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — The Jerry Gagliardi Memorial Turkey Trot will take place on Upper Dummerston Road on Thursday morning, with the one-mile kids run starting at 9 and the three-miler beginning at 9:15.

Putney resident Colin Costa-Walsh won the three-mile race last year in 18:28. Brattleboro's Sarah Lange finished fourth overall in 18:46 to capture the female division title.

You must preregister at by Wednesday at 5 p.m. in order to be timed. There is no entry fee, however runners are encouraged to make a donation to help with race costs — bibs, timing chips and port-a-pottie rental.

Runners are also asked to bring a nonperishable food item to donate to the local food shelf, Groundworks Collaborative.

Check-in and bib number pickup will be from 8-8:45 on race day at the Brattleboro Country Club. Strollers are welcome, but runners and spectators should leave their dogs at home.

The race is now named after the late Jerry Gagliardi, who was one of the founders of the Red Clover Rovers running club. The former Brattleboro teacher ran the New York City and Boston Marathon multiple times and eventually reached his goal of breaking the three-hour mark. You might remember him as the starter for the annual Bill Powers Memorial Firecracker 4-Miler.

Turkey Trot Champions

Article Continues After Advertisement

2018 — Colin Costa-Walsh (1st) and Sarah Lange (4th)

2017 — Willie Moore (1st) and Tammy Richards (11th)

2016 — Isaac Freitas-Eagan (1st) and Delaney Bullock (13th)

Article Continues After These Ads

2015 — Cole Rooney (1st) and Tammy Richards (15th)

2013 — Landen Elliott-Knaggs (1st) and Tammy Richards (13th)

2012 — Landen Elliott-Knaggs (1st) and Tammy Richards (14th)

2011 — Jacob Ellis (1st) and Heather Connaroe (18th)

Article Continues After Advertisement

2010 — Ned Lyman (1st) and Heather Connaroe (13th)

2009 — Josh Ferenc (1st) and Sarah Lange (14th)

2008 — Jordan Peeples (1st) and Heidi Westerling (8th)

2007 — Ned Lyman (1st) and Sarah Lange (7th)

2006 — Jordan Peeples (1st) and Melissa Nestel (5th)

2005 — Ned Lyman (1st) and Erin Lyman (8th)


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions