Granite State voters cast ballots for local elections


HINSDALE, N.H. — In Hinsdale, 593 votes were cast for two three-year seats on the Board of Selectmen. Voters got to choose from five candidates.

Megan Kondrat received the most votes, with 297, with Mike Carrier coming in second at 255. The pair will be seated on the Board during the regular meeting on Monday, March 18, at 6 p.m. Kondrat and Carrier replaced Wayne Gallagher and Mike McCosker, who didn't run as incumbents. Kondrat and Carrier will be joining current Board members Mike Darcy, Steve Diorio and Bernie Rideout.

Three other candidates had tossed their hats in the ring. William Hodgman III received 212 votes, Marc Sprague got 178, and William Nebelski received 150 votes.

For the Budget Committee, Dennis Nadeau received 391 votes, Lindsey Blake received 365 and Lisa Prince received 359, narrowly beating Ken Howe at 357 votes.

The three will be officially seated on Wednesday, March 20, at 6:30 p.m., in the Hinsdale Town Hall.

Article Continues After These Ads

SB 2, which would have eliminated the annual meetings for both the town and the school district, was defeated. If approved, SB 2 would have replaced the meetings by allowing town voters to cast their ballots on articles, such as town and school budget, rather than during a floor vote during the annual meeting. The Town Meeting vote received 312 in favor to 267 opposed and the school meeting vote received 317 in favor and 264 opposed for school business. SB 2 was defeated because it required a majority vote of 60 percent. For Town Meeting, the percentage was 53.8 percent and for annual school meeting it was 54.5 percent.

Hinsdale's annual school meeting is set for 9 a.m. on Saturday in Hinsdale High School's Beauregard Gymnasium. Town Meeting starts at 10 a.m., or earlier if the school meeting adjourns before then. To view the Town Meeting Warning, visit To view the Hinsdale School District's annual report, visit

In Chesterfield, N.H., Norm VanCor won re-election to the Board of Selectmen by defeating Rob Hodgkins by a vote of 277 to 237.

Chesterfield's annual Town Meeting is also scheduled for Saturday, starting at 10 a.m. at Town Hall. The are 40 articles up for discussion, including the town budget and whether to authorize the Board of Selectmen to pursue a $1.5 million bond to help finance a $4.3 million fiber optic project by Consolidated Communications to bring high-speed internet to every home and business in town. To view the warning articles, visit

In Walpole, in the only contested race, Dennis Marcom and Jeff Harrington were elected to three-year seats on the Planning Board, beating Robert F. Miller.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions