HCRS highlights client successes


SPRINGFIELD — Health Care and Rehabilitation Services (HCRS), southeastern Vermont's community mental-health agency, held its annual meeting on Nov. 7 at the Great Hall in Springfield. Attended by approximately 120 board members, staff, clients, and community members, the event highlighted the outcomes of the non-profit agency's work during the past year.

Three guest speakers, all of whom have received services through HCRS, spoke of their challenges with mental illness, addiction, or disabilities and how HCRS has made a difference in their lives.

Following the presentations, HCRS CEO George Karabakakis, Ph.D., with the assistance of G. Roland Ransom, chief human resources officer, handed out more than 50 staff awards for performance excellence as well as years of service. Five Encore Awards were presented to staff who have gone above and beyond in demonstrating one or more of the Agency's guiding values (creativity, integrity, passion, quality, teamwork, trust, and wisdom). The winners are anonymously chosen by a representative group of staff as well as the agency's Senior Leadership Team. The 2018 Encore Award recipients were: Adam Altshuler, Dawn Blom, Cuyler Cunningham, Nicole Godin, and Jennifer Marandino.

Service awards were presented to 51 employees who have a combined total of 430 years of service: Anne Clark, 30-year service award; Loriann Darrell. 25 years; Drew Gradinger and Maris Noble, 20 years; Cheryl Cavanagh, Karl Eno, Katie Gilcris, Joan Hooke, John Italia, and Sarah Jones, 15 years; Kathryn Duncan, Mark Gebo, Gary Graff, Kathleen Lamphere, Jennifer Merrill, Lisa Rucker, Elizabeth Smith, and Brenda Stearman, 10 years; and Alina Abraham, Sarah Allain, Angela Bean, David Bingham, Paul Boutin, M.D., Scott Breedlove, Joshua Buchman, Donna Burns, Ailliea Carle, Rebecca Chrisinger, Todd Clark, Marissa Davis, Sharon Farnum Smart, Elizabeth Harris, Wayne Harvey, Karla Hill, Charlene Hjermstad, Lynn Huston, Gerda Lenselink, Lynn McCormick, M.D., Ciarra Monty, Aaron Morse, Lysa Mosca, Emily Mousel, Kristen Neuf, Brendan Nicholas, Lindsay Owens, Elaine Pierce, Christina Puffer, Mary Ruffing, Heidi Schroeder, Maura Shader, and Laura Schairbaum, five years.

"We value our staff's commitment to providing services and supports that help people lead healthy and meaningful lives. Our annual meeting provides us an opportunity to publicly recognize their efforts," Karabakakis said.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions