La Rosa, 3 Brattleboro tennis players honored

Reformer Staff

BRATTLEBORO — After guiding the Brattleboro Union High School varsity boys tennis team to the No. 8 seed in the Division 1 Tournament and a 9-5 overall record, Charlie La Rosa was named the Marble Valley League co-coach of the year along with Mount Anthony Union's Trevor Grimshaw.

Brattleboro's Martin Sipowicz, Jonah Petrie, and Alex Shuey were all named to the MVL First Team.

"He can beat you with hard drives deep into the tightest corners and can take charge on short balls and beat you with angled volleys and drop shots at the net," La Rosa said of Sipowicz. "For a big muscular guy, Petrie can really move around the court. Not exactly a ballerina, but he manages to track down and return every shot that isn't perfectly placed. There's a big heart in that barrel chest."

On Senior Day, Sipowicz defeated MAU's Michael Niemi 6-4, 6-1 and Petrie topped Nick Pappas 6-4, 6-3. Shuey beat Burr and Burton's Chapin Frye 7-6 (7-1), 3-6, 10-7 in mid May.

"Shuey has become something of a tiebreaker specialist this year and never fails to keep the crowd on edge from point to point. For his part, Alex is never fazed and remains cool as a cucumber throughout. I can't tell whether he is on top or the underdog unless I look at the score tower," said coach La Rosa after that victory.

MVL Boys Tennis Team

Nick Plants — Burr and Burton

Martin Sipowicz — Brattleboro

Alex Shuey — Brattleboro

Jonah Petrie — Brattleboro

Mike Niemi — Mount Anthony

Nicholas Pappas — Mount Anthony

Andres Aguilar — Rutland

Austin Roussel — Rutland

Noah Tyson — Rutland

Keegan Bliss — Rutland

Ethan Earle — Woodstock

Gardner Gottsegen — Woodstock

Henry Greene — Woodstock

Coach Trevor Grimshaw — MAU

Coach Charlie La Rosa — Brattleboro


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions