Maple Sugar Bowl is Aug. 7


BRATTLEBORO -- Vermont will attempt to break New Hampshire’s nine-game winning streak when the teams face off in the 57th Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl football game at MacLeay-Royce Field in Windsor on Aug. 7 at 2:30 p.m.

The game features all-star teams of graduated seniors from the Green Mountain and Granite states and net proceeds are donated to the three nearest Shrine hospitals. Ticket prices are $8 in advance and $10 at the gate.

It all started in 1954 at Holman Stadium in Nashua, N.H. when $4,500 was raised for the three hospitals and New Hampshire outscored Vermont 12-7. The Vermonters defeated the Granite Staters 47-40 in 2000, but have been on the losing end ever since.

There are three area players on the 2010 Vermont team, including Brattleboro’s Devin Rhodes and Davin Freeman, and Josh Pratt of Bellows Falls.

"Josh is the type of kid that every coach wishes they had. He is a smart player, a physical player and a team player. He will do whatever you ask him to," said Bellows Falls coach Bob Lockerby.

Article Continues After These Ads

Pratt played several different offensive positions for the Terriers, including guard, tackle and even fullback in short-yardage situations. Defensively, he played linebacker.

Freeman is one of the best defensive backs in the state, according to Chris Sawyer. The BUHS assistant coach and athletic director also noted that Rhodes is a very steady and strong center.

The rosters for both sides are as follows:

Vermont: Head coach -- Charles Burnett, Essex. Players -- Pat Nee, Essex; Tyler Flinn, Rutland; Kevin Jenko, Essex; Evan McCrea, Essex; Rick Lantman, Rutland; Jake Bialecki, Oxbow; Brandon Boyle, Springfield; Keegan Corbett, MAU; Ethan Burdick, MAU; Zach Dessureau, Spaulding; Davin Freeman, Brattleboro; Gavin Callahan, Windsor; Adam Picard, Essex; Jason Devens, MAU; Johnny Joseph, Essex; Peter Crosby, Hartford; Ian Shaw, Mt. Mansfield; Ben Roberts, BFA-St. Albans; Jay McCormack, Essex; Cooper Wile, Burlington; Andrew Piper, Otter Valley; Avery Normyle, MAU; James Nolan, Windsor; Greg Gonyea, Rutland; Devin Rhodes, Brattleboro; James Buss, Burr & Burton; Thomas Dunn, South Burlington; Josh Pratt, Bellows Falls; Leo Cohen, Rutland; Jelani Williams-Beckett, Rice; James Danyow, Middlebury; Max Reinecke, Essex; Cody Mitchell, Lyndon; Matthew Long, CVU; Jordan O’Grady, Milton; Adam Slocum, Essex.

New Hampshire: Head Coach -- Ken Sciacca, Kennett High School. Players -- Michael Montville, Porsmouth; Dylan Brodeur, Nashua North; Tanner Baillargeon, Kennett; Connor Lyons, Trinity; Ben Callahan, Exeter; DJ Petropulos, Souhegan; Colin Hay, Plymouth; Ryan SImpson, Pinkerton; Jake Castricone, Trinity; Josh Luciano, Pelham; Michael Cavanaugh, Manchester Central; Kevin Brady, Inter-Lakes; Steven Jellison, Souhegan; Jake Matthews, Salem; Maxwell Brennick, Kennett; Jake Finnegan, Londonderry; Zach Kelleher, Exeter; Kyle McAuliffe, Plymouth; Brian Bozek, Laconia; Derek Furey, Timberlane; Darren Brown, Salem; Matthew Kaplan, Franklin; Dylan Ryan, Exeter; Colby Wilkinson, Keene; Kevin Rosenberg, Nashua; Josh Cherok, Laconia; Dylan Moye, Mascoma Valley; Michael Flynn, Bishop; Barry Powers, ConVal; Dillon Cohen, Salem; Jesse Green, Winnacunnet; Bryan Airoldi, Milford; Luke Ollila, Bishop Brady; Bem Proulx, Pinkerton Academy; Harry Knowles, Winnacunnet; Tom Poitras, Bow.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions