Mighty pens and patriots awarded

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — Three students from Kurn Hattin Homes - Deja Nasta (1st place), Ben Robichaud (2nd place), and Dani Thorson (3rd place) - were honored for their Patriot's Pen essays on "What Makes America Great?" during the annual Voice of Democracy / Patriots Pen awards dinner hosted by the VFW Post 1034 and Auxiliary on Saturday, Nov. 23.

Each student received a framed certificate, an American flag, and a monetary award. Deja's entry will move on to Vermont District One competition. One winner from each district will move on to state level competition. The state winner will move on to compete at the national level for $5,000 in scholarships.

The Post and Auxiliary expressed gratitude to VFW Department Chairwoman Cindy Brown for attending, and Kurn Hattin teacher Richard Long for his dedication to teaching and instilling patriotism and an interest in history in youth.     Each year more than 111,000 students in grades 6-8 enter the VFW's Patriot's Pen youth essay contest for a chance to win their share of more than $900,000 in state and national awards. Each first-place state winner receives a minimum of $500 at the national level and the national first place winner receives $5,000 and an all expense paid trip to Washington D.C.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions