Millerick earns Vermont football honor, Waryas is a finalist

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

Six student-athletes from the state's high school football programs were honored as the 2019 Vermont High School Scholar Athlete Inductees, and another was honored for his community service and leadership as the Vermont Chapter of the National Football Foundation recently announced its 27th annual awards. This year the annual dinner, held normally in early May, will not be held due to COVID-19 concerns. The occasion honors student-athletes and distinguished adults from the Vermont football community and is attended by over 300 people.

The six Vermont High School Scholar Athlete Inductees, honored for outstanding football ability and performance, outstanding academic achievement and outstanding school leadership and example are Trey Alercio of St. Johnsbury, Brett Bohlmann of South Burlington, Tyler Buxton of Middlebury, Mitch Gadapee of Colchester, Joey McCoy from Burr and Burton, and Tyler Millerick of Brattleboro. Each will receive a $500 scholarship from the NFF.

Millerick is a member of the National Honor Society after earning high honors all four years. He is a member of the BUHS athletic leadership council and is part of the school's in-house daily television news crew. He led the Colonels to the 2019 Division 2 state title, ending the program's 46-year championship drought, and was named to the D-2 coaches all-state first team. He played in the North-South Senior All-Star Game and has been named to the Vermont Shrine Bowl Team.

The six inductees were chosen from 24 state-wide finalists. The other finalists are: Griffin Waryas, Bellows Falls; Matthew Bayard, BFA-St. Albans; Zach Gamelin, Champlain Valley; Cory Giannelli, Essex; Andrew Lanthier, Fair Haven; Kyle Hamilton, Hartford; Matthew Lazzaro, Lyndon; Gary Burnett, Mill River; Ethan Kelleher, Missisquoi Valley; Matthew Lazzaro, Mount Abraham; Owen Maroney, Mount Anthony; Mason Combs, Mount Mansfield; Caden Capman, Poultney; Cale Layman, Rice; Matt Creed, Rutland; Jackson Pierson, Spaulding; Sullivan O'Hara, Union 32; and Caleb Meagher, Windsor.

Waryas completed eight passes for 60 yards in the Division 2 state championship game against Brattleboro. He helped the Terriers to an 8-3 record during his senior season under center.

Rutland's Creed is also this year's winner of the Robert Stafford High School Athlete Community Service Award. One of the Raiders' leaders as a captain, he spearheaded and was involved in many efforts in and around his hometown. Creed is a talented defensive lineman who was named to the 2020 Vermont Shrine Team. Excellent in the classroom, he is bound for Worcester Polytechnic Institute.

Longtime Poultney head coach David Capman was named the Vermont Coach of the Year after leading his Blue Devils to the Division 3 state title. Capman was named last fall as the state's D-3 coach of the year while Tom McCoy of D-I state champ Burr and Burton was named the coach of the year for Division I, and Union-32's Brian Divelbliss earned the Division 2 honor.

Seniors Nick Reca (Cranston, R.I.), a defensive back from Castleton University, defensive lineman Martin Williams (Chestnut Hill, Mass.) of Middlebury College, linebacker Kevin Svarczkopf (Essex Junction, Vt.) of Norwich University, and Kyle Morand (Manchester, Maine) from the University of Vermont club football team were named the Vermont Collegiate Scholar-Athlete Hall of Fame inductees, representing the state's four collegiate football programs.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions