Post 5 to face Connecticut team Wednesday

Don't miss the big stories. Like us on Facebook.  

BRATTLEBORO — The Brattleboro American Legion baseball team will take on the Connecticut runner-up in their first regional game on Wednesday at noon at Holy Cross in Worcester, Mass.

Post 5 won its seventh state championship by going 5-1 in the recent double-elimination tournament in Colchester. Jeremy Rounds was named the Tourney MVP after batting .348, scoring seven runs and swiping five bases for the champs. Dan Petrie (catcher), Hunter Beebe (1B), Tyler Millerick (2B), Jack Pattison (3B), Chris Frost (OF) and Christian Thomsen (P) also made the All-Tournament Team.

Adam Newton went 5-2 on the hill, Rounds went 6-1 and Thomsen went 6-1 to help Brattleboro to a 23-8 record during the regular season. The 2016 state champs were seeded third in the South entering the eight-team battle royal at Colchester High School.

Forrester Avard, Newton and Rounds combined for a two-hitter when Post 5 opened the state tournament with a 7-0 win over defending champion Essex. Rounds would then go 3-for-3 to propel Brattleboro to a 7-2 victory over Lakes Region.

Manager Eric Libardoni's team would then walk 10 batters and hit four more in a 6-1 loss to SD Ireland. Post 5 would bounce back with three straight wins, however — Thomsen threw a one-hit shutout during a 10-0 rout of Rutland, Petrie blasted a three-run homer that traveled 405 feet in a 9-6 decision over previously unbeaten SD Ireland, and Millerick drove in a couple of runs when Brattleboro beat SD Ireland 5-2 for the crown.

In other first-round games for the Northeast Regional Tournament on Wednesday, the Rhode Island and Connecticut champions will square off at 9:30 a.m., the New Hampshire and Massachusetts champions will go at it at 4:30 p.m., and the Maine champion will face the host Shrewsbury, Mass. team in the nightcap.

Brattleboro roster: Coaches — Eric Libardoni, Kyle Henry, Brad Venice, Jamie Martell, Greg Short. Players — Tyler Millerick, Adam Newton, Alex Bingham, Jeremy Rounds, Alex Kendall, Evan Finnell, Forrester Avard, Jack Pattison, Aaron Petrie, Hunter Beebe, Chris Frost, Jack Price, Dan Petrie, Joe Rafus, Christian Thomsen.



If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions