Vermont aiming for 3rd straight win


Reformer Staff

BRATTLEBORO — Logan Cota, Seth Balch and Jay McCoy are listed as the quarterbacks for the Vermont team, which will take on New Hampshire in the 65th annual Shrine Maple Sugar Bowl football game on Saturday at 5:30 p.m. at Castleton University.

Cota completed 36 of 66 passes for 755 yards and nine touchdowns while helping Bellows Falls to a 7-2 record during the regular season. He also ran the ball for 451 yards and 14 scores.

Balch, who spent his summer playing for the Bellows Falls American Legion baseball team, guided Windsor to its second-straight perfect season on the gridiron last fall.

McCoy, of Burr and Burton, kept the ball 20 times for 105 yards in the North-South game.

Along with Cota, the Terriers will also be represented on Saturday by offensive lineman Jared Zobkiw and running back Shane Clark. During the Division 2 championship game against Fair Haven, Zobkiw's pass protection helped give Cota time to connect with Clark for a 32-yard TD strike. Clark, who ran for 1,303 yards in his first nine games combined, also had a 62-yard touchdown reception and 40-yard run to paydirt in that finale.

Vermont has won the last two Shrine Maple Sugar Bowls, including 50-2 in 2016 and 19-0 last year. New Hampshire has a 47-15-2 series lead.

This summer classic brings together some of the finest high school football players from Vermont and New Hampshire, where the real winners are the kids in the Shriners Hospitals for Children. The Shrine Game has raised thousands of dollars over the past 64 years.

Vermont roster

#1 Daniel Greene, U-32

#3 Logan Cota, Bellows Falls

#7 Sherman Page, Windsor

#8 Shane Alercio, Saint Johnsbury

#9 Drew Eddy, Fair Haven

#11 Will Fischer, Mount Anthony

#12 Tyler Hamilton, Hartford

#14 Seth Balch, Windsor

#15 Jared Miglorie, Rutland

#19 Kody Rhodes, Hartford

#21 Hunter Nunes-Wales, Missisquoi

#22 Shane Clark, Bellows Falls

#23 Trent Cross, Milton

Article Continues After These Ads

#24 Tre Sherwood, Milton

#25 Mathew Roy, Saint Johnsbury

#26 Griffin Knapp, Saint Albans

#31 Jake Tucker, Windsor

#34 Jay McCoy, Burr and Burton

#36 Tyler Hotte, Middlebury

#44 Justin Duncanson, Lyndon

#50 Jacob Bortnick, Champlain Valley Union

#51 Ben Meagher, Windsor

#52 Alex Rizvanov, Essex

#53 Jake Stoodley, Fair Haven

#54 Tucker Gaudette, Saint Albans

#55 Sylas Hallock, Mount Mansfield

#56 Jared Zobkiw, Bellows Falls

#57 Steven Cadieux, Colchester

#58 Tom Emery, Saint Johnsbury

#59 James Lamb, U-32

#60 Brendan Crossman, Rutland

#70 Nate Wilson, Saint Albans

#75 Nick Johnson, Milton

#76 Seth Park, Fair Haven

#80 Brody Snow, Burlington

#87 Austin Ellis, Fair Haven


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions