WRCC honors inductees

The Windham Regional Career Center held its Honors Evening on June 5 at the American Legion. The celebration was in honor of the Center's National Technical Honor Society (NTHS) inductees and scholarship winners. Welcome and opening remarks were made by Michael Burnett, WRCC Director: Lyle Holiday, Superintendent of the Windham Southeast Supervisory Union; and Mr. Bob Woodworth, Chairperson of the Regional Advisory Board.

Following a delicious buffet prepared by Entera catering, 10 WRCC students were inducted into the National Technical Honor Society. Maribeth Cornell, NTHS advisor and instructor of business classes, introduced each inductee while sharing highlights about their skills and accomplishments and future plans. Once introduced, a beautiful candlelight ceremony explaining the seven qualities of NTHS members was held, followed by official induction words. The 2018 inductees are: Samantha Cragin, Taylor Florence, Victoria Gassett, Jacob LaMorder, Kayla Leonard-Houle, Emma Li, Dillen Paquette, Domenick Schmidt, Amber Sinclair and Chulie Vinton. Eamon Martin was the evening's guest speaker. Eamon is a 2018 graduate of American University in Washington DC and a graduate of the BUHS class of 2014. His message to the seniors was "Things I Wish I'd Known and Take Time to Appreciate the Moment." His words of wisdom were enriching and motivating.

The evening concluded with the presentation of scholarships and awards. Eleanor Thomas presented the Warner L. Thomas Business Student Scholarship to Victoria Packard and the Richard and Marion Thomas Scholarship to Melanie Dow; Donna Rathbun, Assistant. Vice President/Compliance Officer at The Brattleboro Savings & Loan Scholarship presented their scholarship to Melanie Dow; Gene Whitney presented The Ernest Flagg Scholarship to Jonathan Newton; Diane Nuzzo, WRCC Horticulture instructor, presented the Brattleboro Garden Club Scholarship to Mariah Nichols; John DiMatteo, Construction Trades instructor, presented The Raymond Harrington Award to Logan Morton; Craig Young presented the Brent Young Award to Logan Morton; Diane Nuzzo presented the James Brown Memorial Fund Award to Mariah Nichols; Anne Doran presented the Vermont Honors Scholarship to Molly Wrathall; Michael Burnett presented the James Cusick Memorial Award to Emma Li and the William Dennen Overall WRCC Outstanding Student award was given to Yvonne Harrison.


If you'd like to leave a comment (or a tip or a question) about this story with the editors, please email us. We also welcome letters to the editor for publication; you can do that by filling out our letters form and submitting it to the newsroom.

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions